OBSERVATION

At the beginning of the 21st century, the sea is a major scientific and societal issue. Studying it over the long term, understanding it and predicting its evolution in the face of climate change and local constraints is the IUEM’s mission as one of the 25 national observation institutes supported by CNRS.

IUEM conducts its Observation mission in synergy with its Research and Training missions and considers this as a long-term federating axis of ideas, projects, achievements and expertise.

Based on scientific logic, The Observation mission combines measurements, experiments and modelling with regard to past and future trajectories. The sea and its evolution are approached from all disciplinary fields, including the national instrumented sites of the sciences of the universe (SNI OHASISBIO and REVOSIMA/MAHY), but above all by the national observation services (SNO) on the high seas (SNO-Argo) and coasts (SNO-Somlit/Coast-HF/Dynalit), on the life sciences (SNO-Phytobs/Benthobs) and on human and Social sciences through observation of the socio-ecosystem of the Brest-Iroise Workshop Area (ZABrI).

IUEM carries out its Observation mission by coordinating more than ten monitoring systems which, through regular and long-term measurements, build up physical, chemical, biological, floristic and faunistic databases, available to the scientific community and the public.

In particular, IUEM is in charge of:

  • the quality and sustainability of the resources and skills mobilised,
  • the optimal coordination of resources,
  • the link between stakeholders (actors, services and organisations),
  • the alignment of the national compliance strategies of the different schemes.

With several decades of experience, IUEM is a leading contributor to knowledge of the evolution of the sea system, and is a key player in federating, structuring and carrying out observation of the sea at regional, national and international levels.

Today, in order to better respond to societal needs, IUEM is focusing its Observation mission on the Man-Earth-Sea continuum with a multidisciplinary and integrative approach.

Discover our observation series

Offshore observation

Covering 70.8% of the world’s surface, the ocean’s vastness constitutes a scientific and technical challenge that requires systems organised on an international scale. IUEM is part of this approach as coordinator of the SNO-ARGO-France system, which aims to monitor the physics of the world’s oceans, and as co-sponsor of the national structuring of deep-sea observation for monitoring seismic hazards (MARMOR and OHASISBIO).

Integrated observation of the vulnerability of territories

Situated at the crossroads of scientific and societal issues, vulnerability monitoring (OSIRISC) is one of the key areas of IUEM’s Observation mission. Primarily aimed at the risks of erosion and submersion, it consists, around “pilot” integrated observation sites, of co-constructing data, knowledge and visualization and management tools with all the scientific, management and public players in order to anticipate and manage the evolution and transition of the territory in the face of climatic hazards.

The Brest-Iroise Workshop Area (ZABrI)

The Brest-Iroise Workshop Area is a scientific project supported by the CNRS Institute of Ecology and Environment (INEE) which focuses on the coastal socio-ecosystem of the Iroise Sea, the Bay of Brest and its catchment areas. The project is coordinated by three IUEM laboratories (LETG-Brest, LEMAR and AMURE) and brings together a group of researchers from different universities and institutes conducting environmental research in the context of integrated management, sustainable development and transformation along the land-sea continuum. It also involves a large number of non-academic partners: protected areas, local authorities, associations, professional groups, watershed managers and scientific outreach stakeholders. The work combines environmental sciences and human and social sciences.

Participatory monitoring

Faced with the need to collect more data to better understand the functioning of marine environments, IUEM has included citizen participation in its observation approach. The objective is twofold: firstly, by increasing the number of operators, it improves the spatial and temporal coverage of phenomena, and secondly, it contributes to transmitting knowledge and raising awareness among civil society in its role as an operator for the preservation of these environments.

Historical series

Historical series are elements such as fauna, flora, evolution of the coastal landscape… which are and/or have been monitored over long periods.

Support for coordination and development

IUEM has been involved in observation for more than 25 years with all its common services (observation, administration, communication, seagoing facilities, technical platforms). This community of expertise constitutes a solid support for specific areas of national interest, such as the coordination of the Coastal and littoral Research Infrastructure (IR-Ilico) and the Network of Workshop Areas (RZA), the implementation of the Coriolis observation data management tool, and support for the observation effort in global south countries.

IR ILICO

ILICO is the national research infrastructure dedicated to the observation and understanding of coastal and littoral environments. ILICO federates SNOs and provides scientific leadership for the French community (spread over >70 laboratories incl. overseas) involved in the study of these environments.

Contact : Joanne BURDEN

Read more

RZA

The RZA RI (Réseau des Zones Atelier du CNRS-INEE) studies the functioning and evolution of socio-ecosystems. It is a social-ecological RI, with unique characteristics in the national landscape and in the type of services rendered (co-production of knowledge, decision support, capacity building and empowerment, etc.).

The RZA IR has about fifteen ZAs around functional units (mountain ranges, large rivers, cities, agricultural plains, land-sea continuum). It contributes with IR OZCAR to the French node of eLTER on the ESFRI roadmap of European infrastructures.

Go to the RZA website

Contact: Olivier Ragueneau

Observation in the global South

“Observation in the global South” is part of the “In the South” transverse axis. This scientific coordination axis is carried out by IUEM in support of units conducting research, training and observation work in global South countries.

The main objective is to structure and perpetuate the series of observations in progress in the partner countries.

How do we get there?

  • by relying on the expertise of national observatories, particularly for the quality approach (e.g. Somlit).
  • by making data available to IUEM and to partners in the South (e.g. DataSuds).
  • training local partners in coastal observation techniques (e.g. Obsaloum, Upwelling).
  • developing budget-friendly measurement systems and providing support for their use (e.g. Osofl)
  • stimulating interdisciplinary convergence through the sharing of observations made in the South

Examples of research projects in the South: LEMAR in the South

Contact: Étienne POIRIER

Access to data and publications

Assigning DOIs (Digital Identifiers of an Object) to the end products of long-term observation is a major step. DOIs facilitate and ensure long-term access to the information collected and validated by the authors.

Indigeo

The Indigeo data infrastructure allows the georeferenced data produced by the IUEM and ZABrI observation services to be made known, visualised and made available.

The INfrastructure scientifique de Données et d’Informations GEOspatialisées sur l’environnement (INDIGEO) allows the georeferenced data produced within the observation services of the IUEM and the ZABrI to be made known, visualised and made available. It is based on the use of interoperability norms and standards in accordance with the European INSPIRE directive and also complies with the FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) principles advocated by the National Open Science Plan, the CNRS Open Science Roadmap, and more recently the CNRS Research Data Plan.

Indigeo offers cataloguing, visualisation and dissemination services for research data and, since July 2020, has been able to assign DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) to datasets in order to facilitate their reuse and traceability.

Contact: Mathias Rouan

Maddog

MADDOG is the coastal line and geomorphology observation data portal of OSIRSIC, the ObServatoire Intégré des RISques Côtiers en Bretagne.

MADDOG is a platform for the provision and visualisation of topo-morphological data sets (coastline, transverse beach profile, Digital Terrain Model (DTM)) of the Brittany coastline: beaches, dune systems, barrier beaches, cliffs, river mouths. MADDOG implements cataloguing and geographic information processing tools that allow the valorisation of these monitoring data in the form of interactive databases, and provides online data processing services that allow a preliminary analysis of the morphological evolution of the coastline (kinematics of the coastline, variations in the transverse beach profile and sediment balances, surface morphological changes of the coastal domain).

EPOS-France

Thanks to the MARMOR project (PIA3/EQUIPEX program), national fleets of marine geodesy, seabed seismometers and autonomous hydrophones have been integrated into the new SMM marine component of Epos-France.
Epos-France is a research infrastructure (RI) in the solid Earth field, dedicated to observation. It aims to advance our knowledge of the Earth system in all its diversity and complexity. Epos-France is the successor to the French seismological and geodetic network Résif.

L’OBSERVATION À l’IUEM

En ce début du XXIème siècle, la Mer est un enjeu scientifique et sociétal majeur. L’étudier sur le long terme, la comprendre et prévoir son évolution face au changement climatique et aux contraintes locales est la mission d’Observation de l’IUEM en tant qu’Observatoire des Sciences de l’Univers (OSU) de l’Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers (INSU) du CNRS (OSU depuis 2005).

L’IUEM mène sa mission d’Observation en synergie avec ses missions Recherche et Enseignement Supérieur. Cette mission est pour l’IUEM un axe fédérateur d’idées, de projets, de réalisations et d’expertise, sur le long terme.

Fondée sur la logique scientifique, la mission Observation combine mesures, expérimentations et modélisations en regard des trajectoires passées et à venir. L’objet Mer et son évolution y sont abordés sous tous les champs disciplinaires relevant : des sciences de l’univers avec ses sites nationaux instrumentés (SNI OHASISBIO et REVOSIMA/MAHY), mais surtout les services nationaux d’observation hauturier (SNO) hauturier (SNO-Argo) et côtiers (SNO-Somlit/Coast-HF/Dynalit) ; des sciences du vivant avec les SNO-Phytobs/Benthobs et des Sciences Humaines et Sociales avec l’observation du socio-écosystème Zone Atelier Brest-Iroise (ZABrI).

En tant qu’OSU, l’IUEM opère sa mission Observation en coordonnant plus d’une dizaine de suivis de systèmes-types qui, par des mesures régulières et à long terme, construisent des bases de données physiques, chimiques, biologiques, floristiques ou encore faunistiques, à disposition de la communauté scientifique et du public.

L’IUEM veille, plus particulièrement :

  • à la qualité et la pérennité des moyens et des compétences mobilisées,
  • à la coordination optimale des moyens,
  • au lien entre les intervenants (acteurs, services et organismes),
  • à la concordance des stratégies nationales d’observation des différents dispositifs.

Fort de plusieurs décennies d’expérience, l’IUEM est un contributeur de premier rang à la connaissance de l’évolution du système mer, un acteur de premier plan pour fédérer, structurer et porter l’Observation de la Mer au niveau régional, national et international.

Aujourd’hui, pour mieux répondre au besoin sociétal, l’IUEM porte sa mission Observation sur le continuum Homme-Terre-Mer avec une vision pluridisciplinaire et intégrative.

Découvrez nos séries d’observation

Observation hauturière

Couvrant 70,8% de la surface du globe, l’océan constitue par son immensité un défi scientifique et technique qui nécessite des dispositifs organisés à l’échelle internationale. L’IUEM s’inscrit dans cette démarche d’une part en tant que coordinateur du dispositif SNO-ARGO-France qui vise à suivre la physique des océans du monde et d’autre part en tant que co-porteur de la structuration nationale de l’observation hauturière des grands fonds océaniques pour le suivi des aléas sismiques (MARMOR et OHASISBIO).

Observation intégrée de la vulnérabilité des territoires

Situé à la croisé des enjeux scientifiques et sociétaux, le suivi des vulnérabilités (OSIRISC) est un des axes forts de la mission Observation de l’IUEM. Adressé en premier lieu aux risques d’érosion et submersion, il consiste, autour de sites d’observation intégrée « pilote », à co-construire avec tous les acteurs scientifiques, gestionnaires et citoyens, des données, des connaissances et des outils de visualisation et gestion pour anticiper et gérer au mieux la trajectoire d’évolution et de transition du territoire face aux aléas climatiques.

La Zone Atelier Brest-Iroise (ZABrI)

La Zone Atelier Brest-Iroise est un dispositif scientifique soutenu par l’Institut Ecologie et Environnement (INEE) du CNRS qui s’intéresse au socio-écosystème côtier de la mer d’Iroise, de la rade de Brest et de ses bassins-versants. Le dispositif est coordonné par trois laboratoires de l’IUEM (le LETG-Brest, le LEMAR et AMURE) et rassemble un collectif de chercheurs issus de différentes universités et instituts menant des recherches en environnement qui s’inscrivent dans une perspective de gestion intégrée, de développement durable et de transformation le long du continuum terre-mer. Elle associe également un grand nombre de partenaires non-académiques : aires protégées, collectivités territoriales, tissu associatif, groupements professionnels, gestionnaires de bassins-versants et acteurs de la médiation scientifique. Les travaux combinent sciences de l’environnement et sciences humaines et sociales.

Suivis participatifs

Face à la nécessité de collecter d’avantage de données pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des environnements marins, l’IUEM a inclus dans sa démarche d’observation la participation des citoyens. L’objectif est double : d’abord, en démultipliant les opérateurs, elle permet d’améliorer la couverture spatiale et temporelle des phénomènes, ensuite elle contribue à transmettre les connaissances et à sensibiliser la société civile dans son rôle d’opérateur pour la préservation de ces milieux.

Séries historiques

Les séries historiques sont des éléments de type faune, flore, évolution du paysage littoral… qui sont et/ou ont été suivis sur de longues périodes.

Appui à la coordination et au développement

L’IUEM est engagé depuis plus de 25 ans dans l’observation avec l’ensemble de ses services communs (observation, administration, communication, moyens nautiques, plateaux techniques). Cette communauté d’expertises constitue un appui solide pour des périmètres spécifiques d’intérêt national comme la coordination de l’infrastructure de Recherche Littorale et Côtière (IR-Ilico) et du Réseau des Zones Ateliers (RZA), la mise en œuvre de l’outil de gestion de données d’observation Coriolis ou encore l’accompagnement dans l’effort d’Observation des pays du Sud.

IR ILICO

ILICO est l’infrastructure de recherche nationale dédiée à l’observation et la compréhension des milieux littoraux et côtiers. ILICO fédère des SNO et assure une animation scientifique pour la communauté française (répartie dans >70 laboratoires incl. outre-mer) impliquée par l’étude de ces milieux.

Contact :  Joanne BURDEN

RZA

L’IR RZA (Réseau des Zones Atelier du CNRS-INEE) étudie le fonctionnement et l’évolution des socio-écosystèmes, c’est une IR socio-écologique, aux caractéristiques uniques dans le paysage national et dans le type de services rendus (co-production de connaissances, aide à la décision, renforcement de capacités et du pouvoir d’agir…).

L’IR RZA compte une quinzaines de ZAs autour d’unités fonctionnelles (massifs montagneux, grands fleuves, villes, plaines agricoles, continuum terre-mer). Elle contribue avec l’IR OZCAR au noeud français d’eLTER sur la feuille de route ESFRI des infrastructures européennes.

Accéder au site web du RZA

Contact : Olivier Ragueneau

Observation au Sud

“L’observation au Sud” fait partie de l’axe transverse « Au Sud ». Cet axe d’animation scientifique est porté par l’IUEM en soutien aux unités menant des travaux de recherche, de formation et d’observation dans les pays du Sud.

L’objectif principal est de structurer et pérenniser les séries d’observations en cours dans les pays partenaires.

Comment y arriver ?

  • en s’appuyant sur l’expertise des observatoires nationaux notamment pour la démarche qualité (e.g. Somlit).
  • en favorisant la mise à disposition des données à l’IUEM et auprès des partenaires du Sud (e.g. DataSuds).
  • en formant les partenaires locaux aux techniques de l’observation littorale et côtière (e.g. Obsaloum, Upwelling).
  • en développant des systèmes de mesures à budget raisonnable et en accompagnant la prise en main (e.g. Osofl)
  • en stimulant des convergences interdisciplinaires par le partage des observations effectuées dans les pays du Sud

Exemples de projets de recherche au Sud : LEMAR au Sud

Contact : Étienne POIRIER

Accès aux données et publications

L’attribution de DOI (Digital Identifier of an Object) aux produits finis de l’observation long terme est une étape majeure. Les DOI facilitent et assurent un accès pérenne à l’information collectée validée par les auteurs.

Indigeo

L’infrastructure de données Indigeo permet de porter à connaissance, visualiser et mettre à disposition les données géoréférencées produites au sein des services d’observation de l’IUEM et de la ZABrI.

L’INfrastructure scientifique de Données et d’Informations GEOspatialisées sur l’environnement (INDIGEO) permet de porter à connaissance, de visualiser et de mettre à disposition les données géoréférencées produites au sein des services d’observation de l’IUEM et de la ZABrI. Elle s’appuie sur l’utilisation de normes et de standards d’interopérabilité  conformément à la directive européenne INSPIRE et répond également aux principes FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable) prônés par le Plan national pour la science ouverte, la feuille de route pour la science ouverte du CNRS, et plus récemment le Plan données de la recherche du CNRS.

Indigeo offre ainsi des services de catalogage, de visualisation et de diffusion des données de la recherche et propose notamment depuis juillet 2020 l’attribution de DOI (Digital Object Identifier) aux jeux de données afin de favoriser leur réutilisation et leur traçabilité.

Contact : Mathias Rouan

Maddog

MADDOG est le portail de données d’observation du trait de côte et de la géomorphologie du littoral d’OSIRSIC, l’ObServatoire Intégré des RISques Côtiers en Bretagne.

MADDOG est une plateforme de mise à disposition et de visualisation de séries de données topo-morphologiques (trait de côte, profil transversal de plage, Modèle Numérique de Terrain (MNT)) du littoral de Bretagne : plages, systèmes dunaires, cordons, falaises, embouchures. MADDOG met en œuvre des outils de catalogage et de traitement de l’information géographique qui permettent la valorisation de ces suivis sous forme de bases de données interactives, et fournit des services de traitement des données en ligne qui permettent une analyse préliminaire de l’évolution morphologique du littoral (cinématique du trait de côte, variations du profil transversal de plage et bilans sédimentaires, changements morphologiques surfaciques du domaine littoral).

EPOS-France

Grâce au projet MARMOR (programme PIA3/EQUIPEX), des parcs nationaux de géodésie marine, de sismomètres fond de mer et d’hydrophones autonomes sont intégrés dans la nouvelle composante marine SMM d’Epos-France.
Epos-France est une infrastructure de recherche (IR) dans le domaine Terre solide, dédiée à l’observation. Son objectif est de faire progresser notre connaissance du système Terre dans toute sa diversité et sa complexité. Epos-France a pris la suite du Réseau sismologique et géodésique français Résif.