MicroCO2sme

Microplastics in a CO2-rich ocean: using micro-mesocosms to assess impacts on a temperate ecosystem

Coordination

Carole Di Poi, Ika Paul-Pont et Arnaud Huvet

Project type

National

Project duration

Start Date

February 1, 2022

End Date

January 31, 2024

Links

Human activities have intensive impacts on the oceans by increasing atmospheric carbon dioxide, which causes ocean warming and acidification. These global changes are co-occurring with existing other local anthropogenic pressures, notably plastic pollution. Independently, these pressures are causing already observable changes in the diversity and abundance of coastal and marine species. However, their cumulative effects are largely unknown. Recent studies suggest that climate change may exacerbate the impacts of microplastics on marine organisms in enhancing their bioavailability and ecotoxicity. In the end, one can expect that seawater temperature and pH changes and microplastics will work in tandem and increase impacts on the physiology of marine organisms while reducing the health of the coastal ecosystem as a whole. In particular, it is urgent to evaluate the effects of these forcings on the native and emblematic species of our coasts. Among these species is the flat oyster Ostrea edulis, an engineer species, capable of forming biogenic reefs and now threatened with extinction. This species was very present in the Bay of Brest in the past where it created, over large areas, lush biogenic subtidal calcareous reefs, rich in biodiversity and providing many ecosystem services. Within the framework of the 2021-2030 decade on ecosystem restoration launched by the UN, an initiative to restore this threatened habitat is underway on a European scale and the Bay of Brest is one of the workshop sites.

In this context, MicroCO2sme addresses the vulnerability of Ostrea edulis reefs to microplastic pollution in the context of ocean warming and acidification to better guide current and future restoration projects.

Specifically, the project aims at:

  • deciphering the impacts of seawater temperature and pH changes on the ecotoxicity of microplastics by conducting single and combined-driver exposures.
  • evaluating the long-term effects of both climate change and microplastics on the acclimation abilities at the individual, population and benthic communities within edulis biocenosis.
  • raising society and stakeholders’ awareness on major environmental drivers threatening marine native species and on the subsequent socio-ecological consequences.

Thanks to our partnership with Océanopolis in the framework of the Océanolab programme, we will recreate a temperate ecosystem, consisting of O. edulis oysters and its associated epibenthic species, in a controlled environment over the long-term (≥ 1 year) and exposed to realistic end-of-century global change scenarios. High-throughput tools will be used for global physiological assessment (omics, live-cell imaging) combined with groundbreaking techniques for monitoring biodiversity changes (metabarcoding) and microplastics’ behaviour under climate change (Raman/FTIR imaging). The combination of research and mediation activities will provide useful information to the society including stakeholders and decision-makers for guiding future policies, and will address major regional and global goals to prevent, halt, reverse the degradation of marine ecosystems and initiate the restoration of marine ecosystems for the benefit of all.

Pictures by Mathias HUBER | Ifremer

The team

Contributors

  • Océanopolis
  • Labo. Génétique et Pathologie des Mollusques Marins (I. Arzul, C. Lecadet)
  • LER-Bretagne Nord (N. Desroy)
  • LER-Provence Azur Corse (J.-L.  Gonzalez)
  • UMR BOREA, Université de Caen (C. Détrée)

MicroCO2sme

Les microplastiques dans un océan riche en CO2 : mise en place de micro-mésocosmes pour évaluer les impacts sur un écosystème tempéré.

Coordination

Carole Di Poi, Ika Paul-Pont et Arnaud Huvet

Type de projet

National

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/02/2022

Fin du projet

31/01/2024

Liens

Les activités humaines contribuent à l’augmentation exponentielle des concentrations de CO2 dans l’atmosphère qui est la cause du réchauffement et de l’acidification des océans. Ces changements globaux s’ajoutent à d’autres pressions anthropiques plus locales dont notamment celle de la pollution plastique. Indépendamment, ces pressions provoquent des changements déjà observables sur la diversité et l’abondance des espèces côtières et marines. Toutefois, leurs effets cumulatifs sont largement méconnus. Des études récentes suggèrent que le changement climatique pourrait exacerber les impacts des microplastiques sur les organismes marins en augmentant notamment leur biodisponibilité et leur écotoxicité. Au final, on peut s’attendre à ce que les changements de température et de pH de l’eau et les microplastiques agissent en tandem et augmentent les impacts sur la physiologie des organismes marins tout en réduisant la santé de l’écosystème côtier dans son ensemble. Il est notamment urgent d’évaluer les effets de ces forçages sur les espèces natives et emblématiques de nos côtes. Parmi ces espèces figure l’huître plate Ostrea edulis, espèce ingénieur, capable de former des récifs biogéniques et aujourd’hui menacés d’extinction. Cette espèce était très présente en rade de Brest par le passé où elle créait, sur de larges étendues, des récifs calcaires biogènes subtidaux luxuriants, riches de biodiversité et pourvoyeurs de nombreux services écosystémiques. Dans le cadre de la décennie 2021-2030 sur la restauration des écosystèmes lancés par l’ONU, une initiative de restauration de cet habitat menacé est en cours à l’échelle de l’Europe et la rade de Brest constitue l’un des sites atelier.

Dans ce contexte, MicroCO2sme a pour but d’évaluer la vulnérabilité des récifs formés par Ostrea edulis et sa biocénose à la contamination par les microplastiques dans le contexte du changement climatique, en mettant l’accent sur le réchauffement et de l’acidification des océans afin de mieux orienter les projets de restauration en cours et à venir.

Spécifiquement, le projet vise à :

  • évaluer les impacts du réchauffement et de l’acidification de l’eau de mer sur l’écotoxicité des microplastiques en effectuant des expositions aux facteurs seuls et combinés.
  • étudier les effets à long terme du changement climatique et des microplastiques sur les capacités d’acclimatation aux niveaux de l’individu, de la population et des communautés benthiques associées à O. edulis.
  • sensibiliser la société et les parties prenantes sur les principaux facteurs environnementaux qui menacent les espèces marines natives et sur les conséquences socio-écologiques potentielles.

Grâce à un partenariat avec Océanopolis dans le cadre du dispositif Océanolab, nous recréerons un écosystème tempéré, composé d’huîtres O. edulis et de ses espèces épibenthiques associées, dans un environnement contrôlé sur le long terme (≥ 1 an) et exposé à des scénarios réalistes de changement global à l’horizon 2100. Des outils à haut débit seront utilisés pour l’évaluation des impacts sur la physiologique des organismes (omiques, imagerie de cellules vivantes), combinés à des techniques de suivis des changements de la biodiversité (metabarcoding) et du comportement des microplastiques sous l’effet du changement climatique (imagerie Raman/FTIR). La combinaison des activités de recherche et de médiation fournira des informations utiles à la société, notamment aux parties prenantes et aux décideurs, pour orienter les politiques futures, et répondra aux principaux objectifs régionaux et mondiaux visant à prévenir, arrêter et inverser la dégradation et engager la restauration des écosystèmes marins pour le bien de tous.

 

Photographies de Mathias HUBER | Ifremer

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

  • Océanopolis
  • Labo. Génétique et Pathologie des Mollusques Marins (I. Arzul, C. Lecadet)
  • LER-Bretagne Nord (N. Desroy)
  • LER-Provence Azur Corse (J.-L.  Gonzalez)
  • UMR BOREA, Université de Caen (C. Détrée)