LIPIDOCEAN

 

[embed]https://youtu.be/1sWE-ii46qI[/embed]

The LIPIDOCEAN platform is a platform specialized in the detailed analysis of marine lipids, in all their complexity and diversity, from the subcellular scale to the ecosystem.

This platform is the result of more than 25 years research on marine lipids. It is a group of specialists with expertise in the analysis, chemistry and biology of marine lipids, associated with an efficient analytical park. One of the platform's strong points is the development of original and effective separative methods. These methods make it possible to analyze the lipids of marine origin with a rare level of detail and in the state of trace. The analysis of these molecules presents a real complexity, the platform LIPIDOCEAN is a relatively leader analytical structure on the topic of marine lipids.

The platform LIPIDOCEAN allows the analysis of the lipid composition of marine organisms as well as the study of the physiological mechanisms regulating this lipid composition. The biological matrices that can be analyzed are varied: animals, plants, microorganisms (bacteria, protists), sediments, seawater, co-products ... In other words, it is possible to separate, identify and quantify different types of lipids by the combination of different chromatographic techniques. This makes it possible to determine the lipid composition of the matrices studied, to go down to the level of the molecular species and to reach the "omic" level.

For example, it is possible to separate polar (membrane) lipids from neutral (reserve) lipids, to separate them into classes and subclasses and to determine their fatty acid and / or sterol composition.

The fields of application of this platform are varied, ranging from the most basic to the most applied, from cell physiology to biogeochemistry, via trophic ecology and biotechnology. It thus supports the three LEMAR research teams, as well as 35 external public and private partners, both nationally and internationally. It makes it possible to meet the needs of different users, as part of collaborative research projects but also services.

Among these projects can be cited the ANR Nanoplastics, (study of the impact of nanoplastics on cell membranes) or FUI Brainbooster and Interreg NWE ALG-AD (development of innovative ingredients for health or nutrition containing DHA, acid Omega 3)

The LIPIDOCEAN platform is also strongly involved in training with an EU dedicated to marine lipids in the Master 2 Sciences of the Sea and Littoral of the IUEM. She also takes part in the continuing training and supervision of many doctoral students and trainees.

The analytical park, distributed between the IUEM and Ifremer sites, is composed of 1 GC-MS, 4 GC-FID, 4 HPLC (UV, ELSD, DAD), 1 HPTLC system, 1 LC-MS / MS (in common with the LEMAR Proteomic technical platform) and 1 GC-c-IRMS (in common with the Isotopes Stables platform of the IUEM Ocean Spectrometry Pole).

The team is composed of a UBO research engineer (F. Le Grand, technical director), a CNRS research director (P. Soudant, or scientist), a CNRS technician in fixed-term contracts (A. Bideau) and a dozen technicians, researchers and research professors from LEMAR (G. Schaal, E. Kraffe, F. Pernet, C. Quere, ...).

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

LIPIDOCEAN

La plateforme LIPIDOCEAN est une plateforme spécialisée dans l’analyse détaillée des lipides marins, dans toute leur complexité et leur diversité, de l’échelle subcellulaire à l’écosystème.

Cette plateforme est le fruit de plus de 25 ans recherche sur les lipides marins. Il s’agit d’un regroupement de spécialistes possédant une expertise dans l’analyse, la chimie et la biologie des lipides marins, associé à un parc analytique performant. Un des points forts de la plateforme est notamment la mise au point de méthodes séparatives originales et performantes. Ces méthodes permettent d’analyser les lipides d’origine marine avec un rare niveau de détail et ce à l’état de trace. L’analyse de ces molécules présentant une réelle complexité, la plateforme LIPIDOCEAN est une structure analytique relativement leader sur la thématique des lipides marins.

La plateforme LIPIDOCEAN permet l’analyse de la composition lipidique des organismes marins ainsi que l’étude des mécanismes physiologiques régulant cette composition lipidique. Les matrices biologiques pouvant être analysées sont variées : animaux, végétaux, micro-organismes (bactéries, protistes), sédiments, eau de mer, co-produits…
Autrement dit, il est possible de séparer, d’identifier et de quantifier différents types de lipides par la combinaison de différentes techniques chromatographiques. Cela permet de déterminer la composition lipidique des matrices étudiées, de descendre à l’échelle de l’espèce moléculaire et d’atteindre le niveau « omic ».
Il est par exemple possible de séparer les lipides polaires (membranaires) des lipides neutres (de réserve), de les séparer en classes et sous classes et d’en déterminer la composition en acide gras et/ou stérols.

Les domaines d’application de cette plateforme sont variés, allant du plus fondamental au plus appliqué, de la physiologie cellulaire à la biogéochimie, en passant par l’écologie trophique et les biotechnologies. Elle apporte ainsi son soutien aux 3 équipes de recherche du LEMAR, mais aussi à 35 partenaires extérieurs, publics et privés, aussi bien au niveau national qu’international. Elle permet de répondre aux besoins de différents utilisateurs, dans le cadre de projets collaboratifs de recherche mais aussi de prestations.
Parmi ces projets peuvent être cités l’ANR Nanoplastics, (étude de l’impact des nanoplastique sur les membranes cellulaires) ou  FUI Brainbooster et Interreg NWE ALG-AD (développement d’ingrédients innovant pour la santé ou la nutrition contenant du DHA, acide gras oméga 3)

La plateforme LIPIDOCEAN est également fortement impliquée dans la formation avec une UE dédiée aux lipides marins dans le Master 2 Sciences de la Mer et du Littoral de l’IUEM. Elle prend aussi part à la formation continue et à l’encadrement de nombreux doctorants et stagiaires.

Le parc analytique, réparti entre les sites de l’IUEM et de l’Ifremer, est composé de 1 GC-MS, 4 GC-FID, 4 HPLC (UV, ELSD, DAD), 1 système HPTLC, 1 LC-MS/MS (en commun avec le plateau technique Protéomique du LEMAR) et 1 GC-c-IRMS (en commun avec la plateforme Isotopes Stables du Pole Spectrométrie Océans de l’IUEM).

L’équipe est composée d’un ingénieur de recherche UBO (F. Le Grand, resp. technique), d’un directeur de recherche CNRS (P. Soudant, resp. scientifique), d’un technicien CNRS en CDD (A. Bideau) ainsi que d’une dizaine de techniciens, chercheurs et enseignants chercheurs du LEMAR (G. Schaal, E. Kraffe, F. Pernet, C. Quéré, …).

Membres du Pôle

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018