ADjUST

Synthesis capacities in long-chain omega 3 for the Dicentrarchus labrax seabass

Coordination

Marie Vagner

Project type

National

Funding

Projet Emergence ISBlue

Project duration

Start Date

January 1, 2019

End Date

December 31, 2020

Links

Synthesis capacities in long-chain omega 3 for the Dicentrarchus labrax seabass: characterization and plasticity in the context of the future scenario of global warming and reduced availability of omega 3 in the food web.

Long-chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (LC omega-3 PUFA) are major components of cell membranes of all organisms including humans, giving them a vital role in maintaining physiological functions. LC omega-3 PUFA are produced at the base of the food web, i.e. by marine microalgae, including diatoms. This production determines the availability of these dietary nutrients for higher trophic levels, such as fish that are almost unable to synthetize them. Fish are one of the main vectors of LC omega-3 PUFA from the aquatic ecosystem towards humans, in which the beneficial effects have been widely demonstrated, and what for their weekly consumption is today recommended by many authorities (FDA, AFSSA…).

Global change, through warming, acidification or hypoxia of waters leads to an overall reduction in the production of LC omega-3 PUFA at the base of the marine food web, by altering the assemblages of microalgae species and their physiology. Such decrease has been predicted to lead to membrane variability in higher consumers. In addition, temperature elevation has been shown to negatively interact with LC omega-3 PUFA dietary decrease on fish membrane composition, highlighting the need to consider these factors in combination, especially in the context of seawater warming.

Such changes in membrane composition in higher consumers, such as fish, can have large-scale consequences, altering their physiological functions and their fitness, which depends on reproductive and growth capacities in particular. This alteration is likely to cascade through population dynamics and ecosystem functioning, leading to a possible decline in the availability of these nutrients for human well-being.

This chain of consequences remains poorly studied, but raises the primary research question of how fishes would be able to physiologically adjust to these ongoing environmental changes? Answering this question will go towards the necessity to account for the unconsidered and yet existing capacity of organisms to physiologically adjust (plasticity) to environmental changes within models predicting the responses of organisms and ecosystems to global change.

Marine fish, which live in a trophic environment rich in LC omega-3 PUFA (rich in diatoms), have a very poor ability to synthesize these molecules (< 5%), as they easily find them in their diet. In contrast, freshwater fish, which are subjected to a trophic environment lower in LC omega-3 PUFA (few diatoms), have retained the ability to synthesize ~ 25% of LC omega-3 PUFA from the precursors found in their diet. The ability of euryhaline fish, including the European sea bass Dicentrarchus labrax, to activate or deactivate these synthesis mechanisms according to the type of habitat in which they are found (marine, brackish, river) remains poorly understood, as well as the energy cost associated with this type of modulation.

In this context, the objectives of this project are to:

– (1) Measure in situ the ability of an euryhaline species to synthesize LC-omega-3 PUFA in different habitats, and at different ontogenetic stages,

– (2) Evaluate the plasticity of these natural synthesis capacities by measuring experimentally their functioning when fish are exposed to a decrease in LC omega 3 PUFA availability coupled with higher water temperature,

– (3) Evaluate the energy cost at individual level of implementing such synthesis pathways.

These objectives will be conducted within strong regional (UMR LEMAR, Ifremer fish unit) and international collaborations (Inter-university Centre for Aquatic Ecosystem Research Wasser Cluster Lunz WCL/Danube University Krems, Austria). Focus will be put on D. labrax, which is of high ecological and economic importance in Europe. This euryhaline species is a cornerstone in the transfer of LC omega-3 PUFA produced in marine environments towards humans.

The team

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

ADjUST

Capacités de synthèse en oméga 3 à longue chaine chez le bar Dicentrarchus labrax

Coordination

Marie Vagner

Type de projet

National

Financement

Projet Emergence ISBlue

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/01/2019

Fin du projet

31/12/2020

Liens

Capacités de synthèse en oméga 3 à longue chaine chez le bar Dicentrarchus labrax: caractérisation et plasticité face au scénario futur de réchauffement et de baisse de disponibilité en oméga 3 dans le réseau trophique.

Les acides gras polyinsaturés oméga-3 à longue chaîne (AGPI oméga-3 LC) sont des composants majeurs des membranes cellulaires de tous les organismes, y compris les humains, leur conférant un rôle vital dans le maintien des fonctions physiologiques. Les AGPI oméga-3 LC sont produits à la base de la chaîne alimentaire, c’est-à-dire par les microalgues marines, dont les diatomées. Cette production détermine la disponibilité de ces nutriments alimentaires pour les niveaux trophiques supérieurs, comme les poissons qui sont presque incapables de les synthétiser. Les poissons sont l’un des principaux vecteurs d’AGPI LC oméga-3 de l’écosystème aquatique vers l’homme, dont les effets bénéfiques ont été largement démontrés, et dont la consommation hebdomadaire est aujourd’hui recommandée par de nombreuses autorités (FDA, AFSSA…).

Le changement global, par le réchauffement, l’acidification ou l’hypoxie des eaux, entraîne une réduction globale de la production d’AGPI oméga-3 LC à la base du réseau trophique marin, en modifiant les assemblages d’espèces de microalgues et leur physiologie. Une telle diminution devrait entraîner une variabilité membranaire chez les consommateurs. Il a aussi a été démontré que l’élévation de la température interagit négativement avec la diminution de la teneur en AGPI oméga-3 LC sur la composition des membranes des poissons, ce qui souligne la nécessité de considérer ces facteurs de façon combinée, en particulier dans le contexte du réchauffement des eaux.

De tels changements dans la composition des membranes chez les consommateurs, comme les poissons, peuvent avoir des conséquences à grande échelle, modifiant leurs fonctions physiologiques et leur fitness, qui dépend en particulier des capacités de reproduction et de croissance. Cette altération est susceptible de se répercuter sur la dynamique des populations et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes, entraînant une diminution possible de la disponibilité de ces nutriments pour le bien-être humain.

Cette chaîne de conséquences demeure peu étudiée, mais soulève la question principale de la recherche : comment les poissons pourraient-ils s’adapter physiologiquement à ces changements environnementaux en cours ? En répondant à cette question, on répondra à la nécessité de tenir compte de la capacité d’adaptation physiologique (plasticité) des organismes aux changements environnementaux dans les modèles prédisant les réactions des organismes et des écosystèmes aux changements environnementaux en cours.

Les poissons marins, qui vivent dans un environnement trophique riche en AGPI oméga-3 LC (riches en diatomées), ont une très faible capacité de synthèse de ces molécules (< 5%), car ils les trouvent facilement dans leur alimentation. Par contre, les poissons d’eau douce, qui sont soumis à un environnement trophique plus pauvre en AGPI oméga-3 LC (peu de diatomées), ont conservé la capacité de synthétiser ~ 25% des AGPI oméga-3 LC à partir des précurseurs présents dans leur alimentation. La capacité des poissons euryhalins, comme le bar européen Dicentrarchus labrax, à activer ou désactiver ces mécanismes de synthèse en fonction du type d’habitat dans lequel ils se trouvent (marin, saumâtre, fluvial) reste mal comprise, de même que le coût énergétique associé à ce type de modulation.

Dans ce contexte, les objectifs de ce projet sont de :

(1) Mesurer in situ la capacité d’une espèce d’euryhaline à synthétiser des AGPI LC-omega-3 dans différents habitats et à différents stades ontogénétiques,

(2) Évaluer la plasticité de ces capacités naturelles de synthèse en mesurant expérimentalement leur fonctionnement lorsque les poissons sont exposés à une diminution de la disponibilité des AGPI oméga 3 LC couplée à une température d’eau plus élevée,

(3) Évaluer le coût énergétique au niveau individuel de la mise en œuvre de ces voies de synthèse.

Ces objectifs seront menés dans le cadre de fortes collaborations régionales (UMR LEMAR, Unité des poissons de l’Ifremer) et internationales (Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur les écosystèmes aquatiques Wasser Cluster Lunz WCL/Danube University Krems, Autriche). L’accent sera mis sur D. labrax, espèce euryhaline d’une grande importance écologique et économique en Europe, et pierre angulaire dans le transfert des AGPI oméga-3 LC produits en milieu marin vers l’homme.

L'équipe

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018