SHIPWORM

A Transregional and Interdisciplinary Study of the Societal Impact of the Shipworm Epidemic in the North Sea Region in the Eighteenth Century

Coordination

Michael Serruys (CRBC-UBO)

Project type

European project

Funding

Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions

Project duration

Start Date

September 1, 2018

End Date

September 1, 2020

Links

Twitter: @shipwormhistory

“Panic at the shore … !”

This European and interdisciplinary research aims to understand how societies react to environmental crises. Project SHIPWORM brings together historians from the CRBC (Centre de recherche bretonne et celtique, Univ de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest France) and marine ecologists from LEMAR (Laboratoire des sciences de l’environnement marin, Plouzané, France) to shed light on a forgotten, but major environmental crisis of the eighteenth century: the shipworm infestation of North-Western Europe in the 1730s.

The Teredinidae, more familiar under their common name, ‘shipworms’, are marine bivalves related to clams, oysters and mussels. The adult forms live only in wood found in marine environments, whether floating on the surface, or submerged on the ocean floor. With its two shells, it grinds and tunnels into the wood, ultimately destroying it entirely.

Before the eighteenth century, this mollusc was known on European coasts, but mostly for the damage it caused to ship hulls, not fixed structures, like quays. Within a handful of years, harbour infrastructures, like quays, docks, bridges, locks, but also dikes, were destroyed or damaged beyond repair. The societal impact of the shipworm’s destruction was wide-ranging and profound for local coastal communities, and ultimately for the societies on the North Sea.

The ‘SHIPWORM’ project looks at how this infestation and the damage it caused led to a wave of religious fanaticism, innovations in ship building, political upheaval, international power politics, new trade routes, novel water management technologies, democratisation process, and even mass executions of homosexuals in eighteenth century Western Europe.

 

News and updates on our progress are published on the project twitter account: @Shipwormhistory

 

The team

Laboratory Members

Contributors

Michael Serruys | CRBC / UBO

Pierrick Pourchasse| CRBC / UBO

François Charles | CNRS / LECOB

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

SHIPWORM

Etude transrégionale et interdisciplinaire de l'impact sociétal de l'épidémie de tarets dans la région de la mer du Nord au XVIIIe siècle

Coordination

Michael Serruys (CRBC-UBO)

Type de projet

Européen

Financement

Marie Skłodowska Curie Actions

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/09/2018

Fin du projet

01/09/2020

Liens

compte Twitter: @shipwormhistory

« Panique au bord de mer … ! »

Cette recherche européenne et interdisciplinaire vise à comprendre comment les sociétés réagissent aux crises environnementales. Le projet SHIPWORM réunit des historiens du CRBC (Centre de recherche bretonne et celtique Univ de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France) et des biologistes marins du LEMAR (Laboratoire des sciences de l’environnement marin, Plouzané, France) afin de mettre la lumière sur une crise environnementale oubliée : l’infestation des tarets des années 1730 en Europe du Nord-Ouest.

Les Teredinidae, communément connus par le nom de  » taret « , est un mollusque marin, un bivalve, semblable aux palourdes, huîtres et moules. Les formes adultes vivent exclusivement à l’intérieur des morceaux de bois, qu’ils soient flottant dans la colonne d’eau, ou qu’ils se trouvent sur le fond de la mer, tant qu’ils restent dans un environnement marin. Avec leurs deux coquilles, ils creusent des tunnels dans le bois, jusqu’au point que le bois soit détruit.

Avant le XVIIIème siècle, ce mollusque n’apparaissait qu’occasionnellement dans les eaux européennes. En quelques années, de nombreuses infrastructures portuaires, telles que des quais, des balises, des ponts, des écluses, mais également des digues étaient détruites ou gravement endommagées. Les effets destructifs du taret ont eu un impact profond sur les communautés côtières et finalement sur les sociétés le long de la Mer du Nord.

Le projet « SHIPWORM » étudie comment cette infestation et les dommages qui s’en suivirent ont provoqué une vague de fanatisme religieux, de nouvelles technologies navales, des bouleversements politiques, un nouvel ordre géopolitique, des nouvelles routes commerciales, des nouveaux modèles pour gérer l’eau, un processus de démocratisation, et même des exécutions massives d’homosexuels, en Europe occidentale au XVIIIème siècle.

Pour savoir plus sur les développements de notre projet, veuillez suivre notre compte Twitter: @shipwormhistory.

 

 

L'équipe

Membres du Laboratoire

Collaborateurs

Michael Serruys | CRBC / UBO

Pierrick Pourchasse| CRBC / UBO

François Charles | CNRS / LECOB

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018