EcoFoulPest

From marine molecules to eco-friendly tools for agriculture

Coordination

Christophe Labrière

Project type

Européen

Project duration

Start Date

September 1, 2018

End Date

August 31, 2020

Context and objectives

A pesticide is defined as any substance used to kill, repel, or control certain forms of plant or animal life that are considered to be pests. They include herbicides for destroying weeds and other unwanted vegetation, insecticides for controlling a wide variety of insects, fungicides used to prevent the growth of molds, disinfectants for preventing the spread of bacteria, and rodenticides used to control mice and rats. The first synthetic pesticides became available during the 1940s. Organophosphate insecticides appeared in the 1960s, carbamates in 1970s and pyrethroids in 1980s. Herbicides and fungicides were introduced in the 1970s–1980s. Concern about their adverse impacts on the environment and on human health started being voiced in the early 1960s, resulting in the ban or restriction of the organochlorine insecticides, that had been used successfully in controlling a number of diseases up to that time. A large part of published material related to pesticides focuses on negative attributes and outcomes. Despite their hazards, tremendous benefits have been derived from the use of pesticides in forestry, public health, in the domestic sphere and, of course, in agriculture. Pesticides provide an unquestionable benefit by controlling pests (including diseases and weeds) and vectors of plant disease, by controlling human and livestock vectors and nuisance organisms, and by preventing or controlling organisms that impact other human activities and structures. To maximize the benefits of pesticide use at minimum human, environmental and economic costs, pesticides must be strictly regulated and used properly. However, the use of high volumes of pesticides in the past few decades has led to the development of resistance to pests. The current critical situation is that many of the previously used pesticides are no longer effective, thus the urgent need to develop new, more effective, target-specific and less persistent biocides.

In the search for new pesticides, several researches focused on marine natural products. It is well-known that the marine environment is an exceptional reservoir of bioactive products, which produce several novel structures absent from terrestrial natural products and with unique biological properties. A number of studies have suggested that some of the bioactive compounds isolated from marine organisms exhibit pesticidal properties. Such metabolites may be an environmentally-friendly alternative source for vector and agricultural pest control agents. Here, ECOFOULPEST project aims to further innovate the research effort towards the investigation of new pesticides by focusing on particular families of marine natural products with antifouling properties.

ECOFOULPEST objectives follow the key novel clear-cut aspects highlighted in the state-of-art. The main goal of ECOFOULPEST is to assess the potential of marine organisms to produce prototype eco-friendly tools for agriculture, especially herbicides and fungicides, and to further evaluate the potential hits. In parallel, I will investigate the biosynthetic pathway of the parent natural compound as well as its ecological role towards other marine organisms. Evaluation of such marine natural products and their biological properties will be executed through the following four concrete objectives, each corresponding to work packages (WP) listed on the Gantt chart.

Objective 1 (WP1):

Screening of known marine antifoulings for pesticidal, in particular herbicidal and fungicidal, properties. This objective is based on the screening of marine natural compounds readily available to identify agro-bioactivities. The hits will be further modified for Structure-Activity Relationship (SAR) purposes. In parallel, toxicology studies will be carried out in order to focus research in non-toxic compounds.

Objective 2 (WP2):

Screening of marine natural extracts (from fouling-free organisms) for pesticidal, in particular herbicidal and fungicidal, properties. In addition to the screening of known/putative antifouling compounds, it is also important to investigate new compounds through bioprospection. Easily accessible natural extracts will be screened on the selected biological targets. Hits will be isolated and identified.

Objective 3 (WP3):

Chemical ecology and biosynthesis. This objective aims at understanding the ecological role of such antifoulings and marine extracts in nature, as well as the biosynthetic pathways of the parent natural compounds.

Objective 4 (WP4):

Communication and dissemination. Communication and dissemination of the results will occur via seminars, conference presentations, public talks, submission of manuscripts to peer-reviewed science journals and local science outreach initiatives.

Results

During the first 6 months of the project, an extensive litterature review has been performed in order a) to select the compounds to investigate as pesticides and b) to select the organisms and specific pathways to target for bioassays .some of the selected compounds selected were then chemically synthetised. protocols for bio-assays were validated. Some extracts of marine macroalgae were produced using accelerated solvent extraction technics, a method which has the advantage of being environmentally friendly.

Funding

Grant agreement ID: 800498

Funded under H2020-EU.1.3.2. – Nurturing excellence by means of cross-border and cross-sector mobility

Topic : MSCA-IF-2017 – Individual Fellowships

Call for proposal : H2020-MSCA-IF-2017

Funding Scheme : MSCA-IF-EF-ST – Standard EF

Overall budget: € 173 076

The team

Contributors

Scientific Team :

  • Paul Alain Jaffrès (CEMCA, UBO)
  • Annabel Levert (Société AkiNaO)
  • Olivier Thomas (NUI Galway)

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

EcoFoulPest

Des molécules marines aux outils écologiques pour l'agriculture

Coordination

Christophe Labrière

Type de projet

Européen

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/09/2018

Fin du projet

31/08/2020

Contexte et objectifs

Un pesticide est défini comme toute substance utilisée pour tuer, repousser ou contrôler certaines formes de vie végétale ou animale qui sont considérées comme des parasites. Il s’agit notamment d’herbicides pour détruire les mauvaises herbes et autres végétaux indésirables, d’insecticides pour lutter contre une grande variété d’insectes, de fongicides utilisés pour prévenir la croissance des moisissures, de désinfectants pour prévenir la propagation des bactéries et de rodenticides utilisés pour combattre les souris et les rats. Les premiers pesticides synthétiques sont apparus dans les années 1940. Les insecticides organophosphorés sont apparus dans les années 1960, les carbamates dans les années 1970 et les pyréthroïdes dans les années 1980. Les herbicides et les fongicides ont été introduits dans les années 1970-1980. Les préoccupations concernant leurs effets néfastes sur l’environnement et sur la santé humaine ont commencé à se faire entendre au début des années 1960, entraînant l’interdiction ou la restriction des insecticides organochlorés, qui avaient été utilisés avec succès jusque-là pour lutter contre un certain nombre de maladies. Une grande partie du matériel publié sur les pesticides met l’accent sur les attributs et les résultats négatifs. Malgré leurs dangers, l’utilisation des pesticides dans la sylviculture, la santé publique, la sphère domestique et, bien sûr, l’agriculture ont apporté d’énormes bénéfices. Les pesticides présentent un avantage incontestable en luttant contre les ravageurs (y compris les maladies et les mauvaises herbes) et les vecteurs de maladies des plantes, en luttant contre les vecteurs humains et animaux et les organismes nuisibles, et en prévenant ou en luttant contre les organismes qui ont un impact sur les autres activités et structures humaines. Pour maximiser les avantages de l’utilisation des pesticides à un coût humain, environnemental et économique minimal, les pesticides doivent être strictement réglementés et utilisés correctement. Cependant, l’utilisation de grandes quantités de pesticides au cours des dernières décennies a entraîné le développement d’une résistance aux ravageurs. La situation critique actuelle est que bon nombre des pesticides utilisés précédemment ne sont plus efficaces, d’où la nécessité urgente de mettre au point de nouveaux biocides plus efficaces, plus ciblés et moins persistants.

Dans la recherche de nouveaux pesticides, plusieurs recherches ont porté sur les produits naturels marins. Il est bien connu que le milieu marin est un réservoir exceptionnel de produits bioactifs, qui produisent plusieurs nouvelles structures absentes des produits naturels terrestres et aux propriétés biologiques uniques. Un certain nombre d’études ont suggéré que certains des composés bioactifs isolés d’organismes marins présentent des propriétés pesticides. Ces métabolites peuvent constituer une source de remplacement respectueuse de l’environnement pour les agents de lutte contre les vecteurs et les ravageurs agricoles. Ici, le projet ECOFOULPEST vise à innover davantage l’effort de recherche vers l’investigation de nouveaux pesticides en se concentrant sur des familles particulières de produits naturels marins aux propriétés antisalissures.

Les objectifs d’ECOFOULPEST suivent les aspects clés de l’état de l’art. L’objectif principal d’ECOFOULPEST est d’évaluer le potentiel des organismes marins à produire des prototypes d’outils écologiques pour l’agriculture, en particulier des herbicides et des fongicides, et d’évaluer les impacts potentiels. Parallèlement, j’étudierai la voie de biosynthèse du composé naturel parent ainsi que son rôle écologique vis-à-vis des autres organismes marins. L’évaluation de ces produits naturels marins et de leurs propriétés biologiques s’effectuera en fonction des quatre objectifs concrets suivants, chacun correspondant à des lots de travaux (WP).

Objectif 1 (WP1) :

Dépistage des antifoulings marins connus pour leurs propriétés pesticides, en particulier herbicides et fongicides. Cet objectif est basé sur le criblage des composés naturels marins facilement disponibles pour identifier les agro-bioactivités. Les résultats positifs seront encore modifiés aux fins de la relation structure-activité (SAR). Parallèlement, des études toxicologiques seront menées afin d’orienter la recherche sur les composés non toxiques.

Objectif 2 (WP2) :

Criblage d’extraits naturels marins (provenant d’organismes exempts d’encrassement) pour la recherche de propriétés pesticides, en particulier herbicides et fongicides. En plus du criblage des composés antifouling connus/putatifs, il est également important d’étudier de nouveaux composés par bioprospection. Des extraits naturels facilement accessibles seront criblés sur les cibles biologiques sélectionnées. Les résultats seront isolés et identifiés.

Objectif 3 (WP3) :

Écologie chimique et biosynthèse. Cet objectif vise à comprendre le rôle écologique de ces antifoulings et extraits marins dans la nature, ainsi que les voies de biosynthèse des composés naturels parents.

Objectif 4 (WP4) :

Communication et diffusion. La communication et la diffusion des résultats se feront par le biais de séminaires, de présentations à des conférences, de conférences publiques, de la soumission de manuscrits à des revues scientifiques évaluées par des pairs et d’initiatives locales de sensibilisation aux sciences.

Résultats

Au cours des six premiers mois du projet, un examen approfondi de la littérature a été effectué afin a) de sélectionner les composés à étudier en tant que pesticides et b) de sélectionner les organismes et les voies spécifiques à cibler pour les essais biologiques – certains des composés sélectionnés ont ensuite été synthétisés chimiquement. Certains extraits de macroalgues marines ont été produits à l’aide de techniques d’extraction accélérée par solvant, une méthode qui a l’avantage d’être respectueuse de l’environnement.

Financement

ID de l’accord de subvention : 800498

Financé au titre du programme H2020-EU.1.3.2. – Favoriser l’excellence par la mobilité transfrontalière et intersectorielle

Sujet : ACEM-IF-2017 – Bourses de recherche individuelles

Appel à propositions : H2020-MSCA-IF-2017

Régime de financement : MSCA-IF-EF-EF-ST – Standard EF

Budget Montant global de l’aide prévue : 173 076 euros

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

Scientific Team :

  • Paul Alain Jaffrès (CEMCA, UBO)
  • Annabel Levert (Société AkiNaO)
  • Olivier Thomas (NUI Galway)

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018