Brain Booster

Innovative health ingredients for a healthy aging process

Coordination

Fabienne Guérard

Project type

National

Funding

Fonds Unique Inter-ministériel (AAPn°22)

Project duration

Start Date

November 1, 2016

End Date

April 30, 2020

Links

BrainBooster is a collaborative project that aims to develop innovative, scientifically and clinically validated health ingredients for the nutraceutical and petfood markets, particularly in the ageing-well segment. This project combines ” product ” innovation with societal challenges of sustainable development and local economy in Brittany.

  • Societal issues: In a context of population ageing, it is necessary to respond to a major public health problem by developing nutraceutical ingredients that enable successful ageing and a healthy ageing process, by targeting the maintenance of memory performance and a good quality of life for the elderly.
  • Sustainable development: The BrainBooster project aims to promote marine co-products that are currently not well valued by using eco-friendly extraction processes specifically developed to meet the challenges of sustainable development.
  • Local economy: By participating, at a regional level, in a corporate social responsibility (CSR) approach to adding value to marine co-products, the BrainBooster project will contribute to the structuring of a sustainable sector through the development of innovative health ingredients, a source of value creation for all the stakeholders involved.

This multidisciplinary project will be a source of technical innovation through the use of innovative processes for the extraction of natural bioactive ingredients (marine lipids), but also through scientific research to better understand the effects of nutrition on the prevention of age-related cognitive decline and the mechanisms involved.

Doctoral student: Cloé Oroy ( PhD thesis Cifre, with partner DIANA PetFood). Thesis direction and supervision: Fabienne Guérard, Philippe Soudant & Fabienne Le Grand.

The project has been co-labelled by Valorial and Pôle Mer Bretagne Atlantique. The institutional financial partners are: BPI France, the Brittany Region, Lorient agglomeration and the Finistère Department.

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

Brain Booster

Des ingrédients santé innovants pour le bien-vieillir

Coordination

Fabienne Guérard

Type de projet

National

Financement

Fonds Unique Inter-ministériel (AAPn°22)

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/11/2016

Fin du projet

30/04/2020

Liens

BrainBooster est un projet collaboratif qui a pour ambition de développer des ingrédients santé innovants, objectivés scientifiquement et cliniquement pour les marchés de la nutraceutique et du petfood, plus particulièrement pour le segment du bien vieillir. Ce projet associe à l’innovation « produit », des enjeux sociétaux de développement durable et d’économie locale Bretonne.

  • Enjeux sociétaux : Dans un contexte de vieillissement de la population, il s’agit de répondre à une problématique majeure de santé publique par le développement d’ingrédients nutraceutiques permettant le bien vieillir ou vieillissement réussi, en ciblant le maintien des performances mnésiques et d’une bonne qualité de vie des personnes âgées.
  • Développement durable : Le projet BrainBooster a pour ambition de valoriser des coproduits marins aujourd’hui peu valorisés en recourant à des procédés d’extraction éco-respectueux spécifiquement développés pour répondre aux enjeux de développement durable.
  • Economie locale : En s’inscrivant, à un niveau régional, dans une démarche RSE de valorisation à forte valeur ajoutée de coproduits marins, le projet BrainBooster va contribuer à la structuration d’une filière pérenne via le développement d’ingrédients santé innovants, source de création de valeur pour l’ensemble des acteurs concernés.

Ce projet pluridisciplinaire va être source d’innovation à la fois technique par l’utilisation de procédés innovants permettant l’extraction de bio actifs naturels (lipides marins), mais également scientifique afin de mieux comprendre les effets de la nutrition sur la prévention du déclin cognitif lié au vieillissement et les mécanismes impliqués.

Doctorante : Cloé Oroy (Thèse Cifre, partenaire DIANA PetFood). Direction de thèse et encadrement scinetifique : Fabienne Guérard, Philippe Soudant & Fabienne Le Grand.

Le projet a été co-labellisé par Valorial et Pôle Mer Bretagne Atlantique. Les partenaires financiers institutionnels sont :  BPI France, la Région Bretagne, Lorient agglomération et le Département du Finistère.

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

Les partenaires :

  • Abyss Ingredients (porteur du projet),
  • Maison Chancerelle
  • Diana Pet food
  • Inra NutriNeuro, Université de Bordeaux.

Les accompagnateurs :

  • ID2Sante
  • Valorial et Pôle Mer Bretagne Atlantique (experts en conduite de projet).

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018