Biopelagos

Biodiversity of oceanic pelagic ecosystems for better conservation and management of the exceptional natural areas of New Caledonia and Wallis & Futuna

Coordination

Valérie ALLAIN (CPS)

Project type

European

Funding

BEST2.0

Project duration

Start Date

June 30, 2016

End Date

June 29, 2019

The objective of the project is to provide support to partners for decision-making on the management and conservation of biodiversity in ocean ecosystems, through 3 themes: 1) acquisition of new knowledge; 2) capacity building; 3) knowledge synthesis and guidance.

  • Acquisition of new knowledge through field work to partially fill the lack of knowledge on the biodiversity of the pelagic ecosystem of New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna: sea campaigns, seabird tagging and genetic barcoding. A campaign in each territory (New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna), providing information on ocean physics and chemistry, phytoplankton, zooplankton and micronecton (distributions, biomass, species, isotopes, mercury), the micronecton being the food of large predators in the open sea, and aiming to better understand the functioning of the food web. Seabird tagging (shearwaters and petrels) that can be used as indicators of areas of high marine biodiversity, and the presence of micronecton. The food web will be studied from their regurgitates, analyzed for mercury and stable nitrogen and carbon isotopes. Genetic barcoding will make it possible to study the biodiversity of the micronecton by creating a reference database of the DNA of its organisms, which are very poorly represented in genetic databases.
  • Capacity building. Our objective is to transfer the knowledge acquired through the training of students and the dissemination of information to the general public and institutions in the territories.
  • Synthesis of knowledge and guidance. In this third part of the project, the aim will be to synthesize all the knowledge collected in order to give our partners the tools they need to make informed decisions on the management and conservation of pelagic ocean resources.

The team

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

Biopelagos

Biodiversité des écosystèmes pélagiques océaniques pour une meilleure conservation et gestion des zones naturelles exceptionnelles de Nouvelle-Calédonie et de Wallis & Futuna

Coordination

Valérie ALLAIN (CPS)

Type de projet

Européen

Financement

BEST2.0

Durée du projet

Début du projet

30/06/2016

Fin du projet

29/06/2019

L’objectif du projet est d’apporter un soutien aux partenaires pour des prises de décision sur la gestion et la conservation de la biodiversité des écosystèmes océaniques, à travers 3 thématiques : 1/l’acquisition de nouvelles connaissances ; 2/le renforcement des capacités ; 3/ la synthèse des connaissances et le conseil

  • Acquisition de nouvelles connaissances par un travail de terrain permettant de combler en partie le manque de connaissance sur la biodiversité de l’écosystème pélagique de Nouvelle-Calédonie et de Wallis et Futuna : campagnes à la mer, marquages d’oiseaux marins et barcoding génétique. Une campagne dans chaque territoire (Nouvelle-Calédonie, Wallis et Futuna), donnant des informations sur la physique et la chimie de l’océan, le phytoplancton, le zooplancton et le micronecton (distributions, biomasses, espèces, isotopes, mercure) le micronecton constituant l’alimentation des grands prédateurs du large, et visant à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du réseau trophique. Des marquages d’oiseaux marins (puffins et pétrels) pouvant être utilisés comme des indicateurs de zones de forte biodiversité marine, et de présence de micronecton. Le réseau trophique sera étudié à partir de leurs régurgitats, analysés pour le mercure et les isotopes stables de l’azote et du carbone. Le barcoding génétique permettra d’étudier la biodiversité du micronecton en créant une base de données de référence de l’ADN de ses organismes, qui sont très mal représentés dans les bases de données génétiques.
  • Renforcement des capacités. Notre objectif est de transférer dans les territoires les connaissances acquises en utilisant la formation d’étudiants et la diffusion d’information auprès du grand public et des institutions.

  • Synthèse des connaissances et conseils. Dans cette troisième partie du projet, il s’agira de synthétiser l’ensemble des connaissances collectées afin de donner à nos partenaires des outils leur permettant de prendre des décisions en toute connaissance de cause sur la gestion et la conservation des ressources pélagiques océaniques.

L'équipe

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018