SeaTraM

Seasonality of Trace Metal Distributions in the Southern Ocean

Coordination

Eva Bucciarelli, LEMAR, France / T. Mtshali, CSIR, Afrique du Sud

Project type

International

Funding

ISblue (2019) / PHC PROTEA (2019-2020)

Project duration

Start Date

End Date

Links

A lack of winter sampling in the Southern Ocean has resulted in large gaps in our understanding of
the seasonal variability of primary productivity and consequently of the oceanic biological carbon pump. There is only one reported winter time distribution of dissolved iron (dFe, < 0.2 μm fraction), an essential micronutrient that limits primary productivity in this oceanic region. This deficiency in seasonal observations restricts our understanding of how Fe is supplied to surface waters in spring, when it fuels primary production. More than 99% of dFe may be complexed by organic ligands in oceanic waters but no winter time measurements of organic Fe concentrations have been published in the Southern Ocean. The identity of these organic ligands remains largely elusive. It has been recently proposed that humic substances may account for the entire ligand concentration in some oceanic regions. Despite their potential to be a major player in the iron cycle, very few measurements of these ligand types exist, and no data has ever been reported for the Southern Ocean. Furthermore, very few, including no winter time, particulate Fe (pFe, > 0.45 μm fraction) measurements in the Southern
Ocean have been published, even though particulate Fe exerts controls on the dFe pool through
dissolution, scavenging and aggregation processes. We propose within this project, to investigate for the first time, the oceanic distributions of dFe, pFe, Feorg and humic substances simultaneously in the Atlantic Sector of the Southern Ocean in Winter 2019; onboard the South African RV SA Agulhas II (collaboration with CSIR and Stellenbosch University, South Africa).

SeaTraM arose within the framework of the Laboratoire Mixte International ICEMASA (International Centre for Education, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences over Africa), which facilitated the emergence of French-South African research projects on Climate Change in the Southern Ocean and African margins. The objectives of SeaTraM are also linked to the themes developed by the international GEOTRACES program, iron being a core parameter of GEOTRACES.

The team

Contributors

Thato Mtshali (CSIR, Afrique du Sud)

Roychoudhury (Stellenbosch University, Afrique du Sud)

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

SeaTraM

Seasonality of Trace Metal Distributions in the Southern Ocean

Coordination

Eva Bucciarelli, LEMAR, France / T. Mtshali, CSIR, Afrique du Sud

Type de projet

International

Financement

ISblue (2019) / PHC PROTEA (2019-2020)

Durée du projet

Début du projet

Fin du projet

Liens

Le manque d’échantillonnage hivernal dans l’Océan Austral limite largement notre compréhension de la variabilité saisonnière de la productivité primaire et par conséquent celle de la pompe biologique océanique de carbone. Il n’existe par exemple, à notre connaissance, qu’un seul jeu de données hivernales de concentrations en fer dissous (dFe, < 0.2 μm) dans cet océan, alors que le fer est un paramètre clé contrôlant la productivité primaire australe. Ce manque de données ne permet pas de comprendre comment le fer est apporté aux eaux superficielles au printemps, lorsqu’il est utilisé pour le développement de la production primaire. De plus, il n’existe également que peu de données de fer particulaire (pFe, > 0.45) dans cet océan, et aucune pendant la période hivernale. Le fer particulaire exerce pourtant un rôle essentiel sur la fraction dissoute via des processus de dissolution, scavenging et agrégation. Enfin, il n’existe aucune donnée des concentrations organiques du fer (Feorg) pendant l’hiver austral, alors que dFe est liée à plus de 99% par des ligands organiques dans l’océan. D’autre part, l’identité de ces ligands organiques du fer reste largement méconnue. Récemment, il a été proposé que les substances humiques représentent la totalité des ligands organiques du fer dans certaines régions océaniques. Malgré leur rôle ainsi potentiellement crucial dans le cycle océanique du fer, il n’existe encore que très peu de mesures de ces composés dans les océans mondiaux, et aucune pour l’Océan Austral.

Nous proposons dans SeaTraM de nous intéresser, pour la première fois, à l’étude simultanée des distributions océaniques de dFe, pFe, Feorg et des substances humiques dans le secteur Atlantique de l’Océan Austral pendant l’hiver 2019, au cours d’une mission océanographique à bord du RV sud-africain SA Agulhas II (en collaboration avec CSIR et Stellenbosch University, Afrique du Sud).

SeaTraM s’intègre dans la continuité du Laboratoire Mixte International ICEMASA (International Centre for Education, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences over Africa), qui a facilité la mise en place de projets de recherche franco-sud-africains sur le Changement Climatique dans l’Océan Austral et les Marges Africaines. Les objectifs de SeaTraM sont également en lien avec les thématiques développées par le programme international GEOTRACES, le fer étant l’un des paramètres clés de  GEOTRACES.

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

Thato Mtshali (CSIR, Afrique du Sud)

Roychoudhury (Stellenbosch University, Afrique du Sud)

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018