MODELISME

Integrated modelling of larval dispersion and in-situ studies of multi-species recruitment in the Rade de Brest

Coordination

Philippe Cugier and Martin Marzloff (Ifremer, ODE/DYNECO/LEBCO, UMR EIO)

Project type

National

Funding

Labex Mer

Project duration

Start Date

September 1, 2017

End Date

September 30, 2019

Links

The life cycle of benthic invertebrate species is generally characterized by a succession of contrasting developmental stages, including a pelagic larval stage closely conditioned by hydrodynamics, and the juvenile and adult benthic stages associated with the substrate. Different interactions with biotic and abiotic factors are involved throughout these development phases, contributing to the spatial and temporal dynamics of benthic populations and communities. The MODELISME project aims to improve the understanding of certain mechanisms that affect benthic invertebrates during the (1) pelagic larval and (2) substrate recruitment phases by using modelling tools, combined with in situ observations and genetic analyses. In particular, the project proposes to study:

(1) When pelagic larvae disperse with currents, both larval behaviour and ecology (date and duration of laying; survival; development time) and hydrodynamic conditions that influence larval fate and connectivity between spawning and larval recruitment areas (Ellien et al., 2004, Paris et al., 2007, Nicolle et al., 2013).

(2) During the colonization of the substrate by larvae, which represents a critical phase of the life cycle, affinity with sediment, tropism towards established adult populations or adapted habitat.

The project focuses on several benthic species of the Rade de Brest characterized by contrasting larval life cycles, distinct spatial distributions (partly stratified) and divergent demographic histories (expansion and/or decline). The expected results will aim to characterize the spatial variability of recruitment for these different species, and to quantify the effects of ecology and larval behaviour on connectivity (contrast between species), the effects of environmental gradients (Alder vs Elorn) on recruitment success, and for some species, the contribution of external larval inputs to the Rade de Brest (connectivity with the Iroise Sea).

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

MODELISME

Modélisation intégrée de la dispersion larvaire et études in-situ du recrutement multi-espèce en Rade de Brest

Coordination

Philippe Cugier et Martin Marzloff (Ifremer, ODE/DYNECO/LEBCO, UMR EIO)

Type de projet

National

Financement

Labex Mer

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/09/2017

Fin du projet

30/09/2019

Liens

Le cycle de vie des espèces d’invertébrés benthiques se caractérise généralement par une succession de stades développementaux contrastés, notamment un stade larvaire pélagique étroitement conditionné par l’hydrodynamique, et les stades juvéniles puis adulte benthiques associés au substrat. Différentes interactions avec des facteurs biotiques et abiotiques entrent en jeu au fil de ces phases de développement, et contribuent à la dynamique spatiale et temporelle des populations et des communautés benthiques. Le projet MODELISME vise sur la base d’outils de la modélisation, combinés à des observations in situ et des analyses génétiques à améliorer la compréhension de certains mécanismes qui affectent les invertébrés benthiques lors des phases (1) larvaire pélagique et (2) de recrutement sur le substrat. En particulier, le projet se propose d’étudier :

(1) Lors de la dispersion des larves pélagiques au gré des courants, tant le comportement et l’écologie larvaire (date et durée de ponte ; survie ; temps de développement) que les conditions hydrodynamiques qui influent sur le devenir des larves et la connectivité entre zones de pontes et zones de recrutement des larves (Ellien et al., 2004, Paris et al., 2007, Nicolle et al., 2013).

(2) Lors de la colonisation du substrat par les larves, qui représente une phase critique du cycle de vie, l’affinité avec le sédiment, le tropisme vers des populations adultes établies ou un habitat adapté.

 

Le projet se focalise sur plusieurs espèces benthiques de la Rade de Brest caractérisées par des cycles de vie larvaire contrastés, des répartitions spatiales distinctes (en partie stratifiées) et des histoires démographiques divergentes (expansion et/ou déclin). Les résultats attendus viseront à caractériser la variabilité spatiale du recrutement pour ces différentes espèces, et à quantifier les effets de l’écologie et du comportement larvaire sur la connectivité (contraste entre espèces), les effets de gradients environnementaux (Aulne vs Elorn) sur le succès de recrutement, et pour certaines espèces, la contribution des apports de larves extérieures à la Rade (connectivité avec la Mer d’Iroise).

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

Alain Ménesguen, Ifremer, Unité Dynamiques des Ecosystèmes Côtiers, Laboratoire d’Ecologie Benthique Côtière (LEBCO), Modélisation MARS3D de la dispersion larvaire.

Antoine Carlier, Ifremer, Unité Dynamiques des Ecosystèmes Côtiers, Laboratoire d’Ecologie Benthique Côtière (LEBCO), Biologiste Benthologue, expérimentations recrutement larvaire (crépidule principalement).

Aline Blanchet, Ifremer, Unité Dynamiques des Ecosystèmes Côtiers, Laboratoire d’Ecologie Benthique Côtière (LEBCO), Biologiste Benthologue, expérimentations recrutement larvaire (ophiures principalement).

Xavier Caisey, Ifremer, Unité Dynamiques des Ecosystèmes Côtiers, Laboratoire d’Ecologie Benthique Côtière (LEBCO), Technicien, plongeur.

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018