Warning: The magic method Iuem_Directory::__wakeup() must have public visibility in /web-space/www-iuem.univ-brest.fr/racine-lemar/lemar/wp-content/plugins/iuem_directory/iuem_directory.php on line 83
Cacao – Laboratoire LEMAR UMR 6539

Cacao

Of corals and birds: how seabird-derived nitrogen influences coral reef nitrogen cycling over time

Coordination

Anne Lorrain

Project type

National

Funding

IsBlue, région Bretagne, Labex Corail

Project duration

Start Date

January 1, 2022

End Date

December 31, 2025

Links

Seabirds transfer nutrients from the ocean to their nesting sites (Fig 1.), shaping local productivity and the physiology of adjacent reef-building corals in the case of remote tropical islets, such as those in the southwest Pacific 1-5.

Figure 1. Schematic diagram illustrating the origin and fate of nitrogen in coral ecosystems. Modified from Lorrain et al. 2017.

  The CACAO project investigates the role of guano excreted by seabirds on nitrogen cycling and more generally the chemistry of coastal waters near remote coral reefs, both in the present and in the past, using retrospective analyses in coral cores to reconstruct fluctuations in nitrogen inputs and seabird populations. The processes involved in the transfer of nitrogen to the reef are still unclear, as well as the link between seabird biomass and nitrogen available to corals. Here, we propose to trace the fate and dynamics of seabird-derived nitrogen (N) inputs over the last 50 years in several Pacific atolls with different histories in terms of bird populations related to the morphology of the islets but also to the presence or absence of rodents. Rodents such as rats have a strong impact on seabird populations, either by direct predation or by modification of their habitat; their presence thus leads to a decrease in their population and to guano inputs towards adjacent reefs. The study of the mechanisms of nutrient enrichment as well as the time scales of the return of these nutrients following eradication and how quickly adjacent ecosystems benefit is therefore central to defining effective conservation measures. To do this, we will measure the nitrogen isotopic composition (δ15N) of nitrate in seawater, groundwater beneath the islets, and organic matter bound to the skeleton of massive Porites coral (CS-δ15N) at several sites (islets/atolls) contrasted in terms of morphology, number of seabirds, and rodent history. Preliminary results indeed suggest that the brackish water lens located under the islets would act as a powerful bioreactor, and would be the key mechanism for nitrate enrichment of the reef. The first CS-δ15N records over only a few years also revealed that guano-derived nitrogen inputs to the reef flat were assimilated by coral throughout the year and its lifetime, demonstrating the potential of CS-δ15N records to reconstruct nitrogen supply by seabirds over historical timescales, providing a valuable tool for reef management and future conservation studies.   Reférences:
  1. Lorrain et al. Seabirds supply nitrogen to reef-building corals on remote Pacific islets. Sci. Rep. 7, 3721 (2017).
  2. Thibault, M. et al. Seabird-derived nutrients supply modulates the trophic strategies of mixotrophic corals. Front. Mar. Sci.8:790408. doi: 10.3389/fmars.2021.790408 (2022).
  3. Graham, N. A. J. et al. Seabirds enhance coral reef productivity and functioning in the absence of invasive rats. Nature 559, 250–253 (2018).
  4. Benkwitt, C. E., Wilson, S. K. & Graham, N. A. J. Seabird nutrient subsidies alter patterns of algal abundance and fish biomass on coral reefs following a bleaching event. Glob. Change Biol. 25, 2619–2632 (2019).
  5. Benkwitt, C. E., Gunn, R. L., Le Corre, M., Carr, P. & Graham, N. A. J. Rat eradication restores nutrient subsidies from seabirds across terrestrial and marine ecosystems. Curr. Biol. 31, 2704-2711.e4 (2021).

The team

Contributors

UMR ENTROPIE

  • F. Houlbrèque
  • E. Vidal
  • Nouméa

Max Planck Institute

  • N. Duprey
  • A Martinez Garcia

Warning: The magic method Iuem_Directory::__wakeup() must have public visibility in /web-space/www-iuem.univ-brest.fr/racine-lemar/lemar/wp-content/plugins/iuem_directory/iuem_directory.php on line 83
Cacao – Laboratoire LEMAR UMR 6539

Cacao

Des coraux et des oiseaux : comment l'azote dérivé des oiseaux marins influence le cycle de l'azote des récifs coralliens au cours du temps

Coordination

Anne Lorrain

Type de projet

National

Financement

IsBlue, région Bretagne, Labex Corail

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/01/2022

Fin du projet

31/12/2025

Liens

Les oiseaux marins transfèrent les nutriments de l’océan à leur site de nidification (Fig. 1), façonnant la productivité locale et la physiologie des coraux constructeurs de récifs adjacents dans le cas des ilots tropicaux éloignés, comme ceux du Pacifique Sud-Ouest 1-5.

Figure 1. Diagramme schématique de l’entrée d’azote provenant du guano dans l’écosystème corallien. Modifié d’après Lorrain et al. 2017.

 

Le projet CACAO s’intéresse au rôle du guano excrété par les oiseaux marins sur le cycle de l’azote et plus généralement la chimie les eaux côtières proches des récifs coralliens éloignés, à la fois dans l’actuel mais aussi dans le passé, par des analyses rétrospectives dans les carottes de corail pour reconstruire les fluctuations des populations d’oiseaux.

Les processus en jeu dans le transfert de l’azote vers le récif sont encore flous, ainsi que le lien entre biomasse des oiseaux marins et azote disponible pour les coraux. Ici, nous proposons de retracer sur les 50 dernières années le devenir et la dynamique des apports en azote (N) dérivé des oiseaux marins dans plusieurs atolls du Pacifique ayant des histoires différentes en terme de populations d’oiseaux liées à la morphologie des ilots mais également à la présence ou l’absence de rongeurs. Les rongeurs comme les rats ont en effet un impact fort sur les populations d’oiseaux marins, que ce soit par prédation directe ou par modification de leur habitat ; leur présence entraine ainsi une diminution de leur population et des apports de guano vers les récifs adjacents. L’étude des mécanismes d’enrichissement en nutriments ainsi que des échelles de temps du retour de ces nutriments suivant une éradication et à quelle vitesse les écosystèmes adjacents en bénéficient est donc centrale pour définir des mesures de conservation efficaces. Pour ce faire, nous mesurerons la composition isotopique en azote (δ15N) des nitrates de l’eau de mer, de l’eau souterraine sous les ilots, et de la matière organique liée au squelette du corail massif Porites (CS-δ15N) sur plusieurs sites (ilots/atolls) contrastés en terme de morphologie, nombre d’oiseaux marins et histoire de présence de rongeurs. Des résultats préliminaires suggèrent en effet que la lentille d’eau saumâtre située sous les îlots agirait comme un puissant bioréacteur, et serait le mécanisme clé d’enrichissement du récif en nitrates. Les premiers enregistrements CS-δ15N sur seulement quelques années ont également révélé que les apports d’azote dérivé du guano sur le platier récifal étaient assimilés par le corail tout au long de l’année et de sa vie, démontrant le potentiel des enregistrements CS-δ15N pour reconstruire l’approvisionnement en azote par les oiseaux marins sur des échelles de temps historiques, fournissant un outil précieux pour la gestion des récifs et les futures études de conservation.

 

Reférences:

  1. Lorrain et al. Seabirds supply nitrogen to reef-building corals on remote Pacific islets. Sci. Rep. 7, 3721 (2017).
  2. Thibault, M. et al. Seabird-derived nutrients supply modulates the trophic strategies of mixotrophic corals. Front. Mar. Sci.8:790408. doi: 10.3389/fmars.2021.790408 (2022).
  3. Graham, N. A. J. et al. Seabirds enhance coral reef productivity and functioning in the absence of invasive rats. Nature 559, 250–253 (2018).
  4. Benkwitt, C. E., Wilson, S. K. & Graham, N. A. J. Seabird nutrient subsidies alter patterns of algal abundance and fish biomass on coral reefs following a bleaching event. Glob. Change Biol. 25, 2619–2632 (2019).
  5. Benkwitt, C. E., Gunn, R. L., Le Corre, M., Carr, P. & Graham, N. A. J. Rat eradication restores nutrient subsidies from seabirds across terrestrial and marine ecosystems. Curr. Biol. 31, 2704-2711.e4 (2021).

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

UMR ENTROPIE

  • F. Houlbrèque
  • E. Vidal
  • Nouméa

Max Planck Institute

  • N. Duprey
  • A Martinez Garcia