BIOPSIS

The Biological Pump of Carbon: 2 key silicifiers

Coordination

Brivaëla Moriceau (LEMAR)

Project type

National

Funding

Project duration

Start Date

February 1, 2017

End Date

January 31, 2020

Links

The ocean is an important regulator for climate and thanks to its biological pump, current atmospheric carbon concentrations are lower. Diatoms are microalgae capable of forming beautiful glass shells in just a few hours. These phytoplankton species dominate coastal, polar and upwelling systems and play an essential role in the biological carbon pump. Their biogenic silica frustules are denser than the surrounding environment and ballast the particles responsible for export: the aggregates formed at the surface and the fecal pellets. Global models predict that global warming will amplify nutrient limitations in surface waters and that the structure of phytoplankton communities will change in favour of cyanobacteria. Cyanobacteria dominate ocean areas where nutrients are less concentrated (oligotrophic areas). However, their role in the biological carbon pump has long been underestimated and the mechanisms controlling it remain poorly studied. A few years ago, researchers showed that, like diatoms, cyanobacteria can accumulate silicon, form colonies or even aggregates and are significant prey for zooplankton organisms.

The BioPSis project aims to characterize the processes driving the export and transfer of C and their variability in response to nutrient limitations that may become more pronounced in the future. To this end, BioPSis will focus on two contrasting ecosystems: the Arctic Ocean, characterized by recurrent diatom blooms, and the Sargasso Sea, dominated by cyanobacteria.

We investigate the impact of nutrient limitations (1) on the structure of diatom bSiO2 and on silicon accumulation in cyanobacteria, (2) on the ability of diatoms and cyanobacteria to form aggregates and on their sedimentation rates, and (3) on zooplankton grazing.

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

BIOPSIS

La pompe biologique de carbone: 2 silicifiés clés

Coordination

Brivaëla Moriceau (LEMAR)

Type de projet

National

Financement

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/02/2017

Fin du projet

31/01/2020

Liens

https://www.researchgate.net/project/BioPSis-The-Biological-Pump-of-Carbon-2-key-silicifiers

L’océan est un important régulateur du climat et grâce à sa pompe biologique, les concentrations atmosphériques actuelles de carbone sont plus faibles. Les diatomées sont des microalgues capables de former en seulement quelques heures de magnifiques carapaces de verre. Ces espèces phytoplanctoniques dominent les systèmes côtiers, polaires et les upwelling, et jouent un rôle essentiel dans la pompe biologique de carbone. Leurs frustules de silice biogénique sont plus denses que le milieu environnant et ballastent les particules responsables de l’export: les agrégats formés en surface et les pelotes fécales. Les modèles globaux prédisent que le réchauffement global amplifiera les limitations en nutriments dans les eaux de surface et que la structure des communautés phytoplanctoniques changera en faveur des cyanobactéries. Les cyanobactéries dominent les zones océaniques ou les nutriments sont moins concentrés (zones oligotrophes). Cependant, leur rôle dans la pompe biologique de carbone a longtemps été sous-estimé et les mécanismes le contrôlant restent peu étudiés. Il y a quelques années, des chercheurs ont montrés que comme les diatomées, les cyanobactéries peuvent accumuler du silicium, former des colonies ou même des agrégats et qu’elles sont des proies significatives des organismes zooplanctoniques.

Le projet BioPSis a pour objectif de caractériser les processus conditionnant l’export et le transfert de C et leur variabilité face aux limitations en nutriments qui pourraient s’accentuer dans le futur. Pour cela, BioPSis s’intéressera plus particulièrement à deux écosystèmes contrastés: l’Océan Arctique caractérisé par des blooms récurrents de diatomées et la Mer des Sargasses, dominée par les cyanobactéries.

Nous étudions l’impact des limitations en nutriments (1) sur la structure de la bSiO2 des diatomées et sur l’accumulation du silicium dans les cyanobactéries, (2) sur la capacité des diatomées et des cyanobactéries à former des agrégats et sur leurs vitesses de sédimentation et (3) sur le broutage zooplanctonique.

Publications BIOPSIS:

L’activité alimentaire des copépodes modifie la dynamique d’agrégation des diatomées et leur efficacité d’export:

Toullec et al. 2019 Copepod Grazing Influences Diatom Aggregation and Particle Dynamics.

Moriceau et al. 2018 Copepods Boost the Production but Reduce the Carbon Export Efficiency by Diatoms

Actualités:

La thèse de Jordan Toullec sur les thématiques de BIOPSIS sera bientôt disponible!

 

 

 

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

  • Dorothée Vincent (LOG, UMR8187)
  • Aicha Badou (Muséum d’histoire naturelle UMR BOREA 7208)
  • Stefan Lalonde (LGO, UMR6538)
  • Dirk Schaumlöffel, Philippe Le coustumer, Maria Subirana (Université de Pau IPREM-LCABIE UMR 5254)
  • Bernard Mercier (LTHE UMR 5564)
  • Stephen Baines (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Mark Brzezinski (University of California, USA)
  • Jeffrey Krause (University of Alabama, USA)