Mayotte

Mayotte, a French department located in the Indian Ocean northwest of Madagascar, is bordered by a lagoon of 1500 km² among the largest and most biodiverse. Due to the ever-increasing demographic pressure, the island of Mayotte is extremely polluted by the significant urban development on the coast and an increase in the quantity of domestic wastewater (EUD) produced, of which only 30% is treated by wastewater treatment plants.
Within the framework of the European Water Framework Directive (WFD), which aims to maintain or restore the “good ecological status” of water bodies, LEMAR participates in the development of benthic bioindicators of the quality of coastal water bodies, specific to the Mayotte meadows and mangroves.

Associated projects:

  • Bioindicators for Herbariums project: Study of the biological functioning of overseas herbariums with a view to developing a bio-indicator for monitoring Transitional Water Bodies and the Overseas Coastal Water Body, and, development of methodological tools for monitoring and evaluating the health status of the overseas meadows and their environment within the framework of IFRECOR and the WFD. P.I.: F Kerninon, UMR LEMAR (2017-2019)
  • Mangrove Bioindicators Project: Study of the biological functioning of mangrove sediments with a view to developing a bio-indicator for monitoring Transitional Water Bodies and the Overseas Coastal Water Body; P.I.: T Meziane, UMR BOREA & LEMAR leader: E Michaud (2018-2019)

Related research projects

Mayotte

Mayotte, département français situé dans l’Océan Indien au Nord-Ouest de Madagascar, est bordée d’un lagon de 1500 km² parmi les plus vastes et les plus riches en biodiversité. De par la pression démographique qui ne cesse d’augmenter, l’île de Mayotte est extrêmement polluée par l’important développement urbain sur le littoral et une augmentation de la quantité d’eaux usées domestiques (EUD) produites, dont seulement 30% est traité par les stations d’épuration.

Dans le cadre de la Directive-cadre européenne sur l’eau (DCE), qui a pour objectif le maintien ou la restauration du « bon état écologique » des masses d’eau, le LEMAR participe à l’élaboration de la mise en place de bioindicateurs benthiques de la qualité des masses d’eaux côtières, spécifiques aux herbiers et aux mangroves de Mayotte.

Projets associés en cours :

  • Projet Bioindicateurs Herbiers : Étude du fonctionnement biologique des herbiers outremer en vue du développement d’un bio-indicateur pour la surveillance des Masses d’Eau de Transition et la Masse d’Eau Côtière des Outre-Mer et développement d’outils méthodologiques pour le suivi et l’évaluation de l’état de santé des herbiers d’outre-mer et de leur environnement dans le cadre de l’IFRECOR et de la DCE. Porteur : F Kerninon, UMR LEMAR (2017-2020)
  • Projet Bioindicateurs Mangroves : Étude du fonctionnement biologique des sédiments des mangroves en vue du développement d’un bio-indicateur pour la surveillance des Masses d’Eau de Transition et la Masse d’Eau Côtière des Outre-Mer ; porteur : T Meziane, UMR BOREA, responsable LEMAR : E Michaud (2018-2019)

Projets de recherche liés