SAVE-C

Study of holopelagic SArgassum responsible of massive beachings: Valorization & Ecology on Caribbean coasts

Coordination

Valérie STIGER-POUVREAU (LEMAR)

Project type

National, International

Project duration

Start Date

October 12, 2020

End Date

October 11, 2023

Links

Save-C Funders

The project brings together 14 partners from different Caribbean and metropolitan teams around the theme of massive sargassum strandings along the Caribbean coast. The various partners involved in the project are known to produce work of high scientific quality and have already been involved in fundamental and applied research projects aimed at understanding certain ecological and physiological processes and at enhancing the value of marine resources, in particular macroalgae. The partners are funded by various funding agencies:

.

LEMARMIOBOREA Caen : funded by the ANR

BOREA-UA Guadeloupe: funded by the Région Guadeloupe

L3MA-Martinique, BIODIVENV-Ifremer-Martinique: financed by the Territorial Community of Martinique

CIRAD-Martinique, TMB-Martinique, EFINOR-Paimpol, ALGAIA-Saint Lô, LBCM-UBS, IRDL-UBS: funded by the ADEME

– the two foreign partners, CINVESTAV (Mexico) and UWI (Barbados) are self-funded as they are ineligible in the SARGASSES PAA 2019.

Human populations in the Caribbean region, have been suffering since 2011 from brown tides followed by significant sargassum strandings which have catastrophic consequences for benthic fauna and flora, for health and human activities. The objectives of the SAVE-C project are to obtain basic knowledge on the rafts and species of Sargassum, but also to change the perception of local populations towards massive strandings of Sargassum on coastal areas, transforming this nuisance into a valorization opportunity. This is a contribution to three themes of the SARGASSES 2019 PAA: Themes 1,3,4. The SAVE-C project will fill the knowledge gap on the ecological functioning of the shoreline raft and their threats in the Caribbean, but also propose a solution to turn stranding into socio-economic opportunities with a potential means to develop applications of the abundant macroalgal biomasses stranded on beaches.

Using a combination of field studies, ecological and physiological experiments and biotechnology the SAVE-C project will:

  1. provide knowledge on the Sargassum species responsible for these strandings and on Sargassum rafts, real habitat hosting animal, plant and microbial communities.
  2. to optimise the collection and storage of Sargassum biomass prior to its valorisation in two sectors, agriculture and biomaterials.
  3. provide recommendations for the collection and valorisation of Sargassum biomass.

SAVE-C Concept_project

The project is broken down into 5 research actions (WPs).

Sargasso rafts from the “new Sargasso Sea” are an atypical habitat and knowledge of its ecology is virtually non-existent.

  • WP1 Diversity associated with rafts (Resp. Valérie MICHOTEY, MIO-IRD) : the diversity associated with the habitat will be studied (fauna, flora and microorganisms). This diversity will be studied by different approaches, morphological, molecular and also by acoustics. Environmental parameters (temperature, salinity, O2, pH, arsenic, etc…) around and in the rafts will also be studied.
  • WP2 Trophic and chemical interactions between raft organisms (Resp. Charlotte DROMARD, BOREA-UA Guadeloupe) : we will study the functional ecology within Sargassum rafts in order to identify the interactions between organisms (i.e. algal-burrower, algal-microbiota interactions), its food web, but also the evolution of these interactions during strandings that lead to ecological disturbances on the local marine food webs.

A fundamental issue is the maintenance of Sargassum thalli in pelagic life, as opposed to the majority of Sargassum species that are benthic.

  • WP3 Influence of environmental conditions on the life cycle of Sargassum (Resp. Solène CONNAN, LEMAR-UBO): we will study the life cycle of Sargassum, from the growth of the fragments, their vegetative reproduction, their dispersal until their degradation, in relation with the water quality (oligotrophy in pelagic zones compared to the enrichment of the coastal environment, by continental and/or atmospheric inputs) and with contaminants (including arsenic).

Sargassum rafts and groundings represent a biomass to be valorised.

  • WP4 Collection and stabilisation of the raw material Sargassum (Resp. Benjamin LERONDEAU EFINOR-Paimpol and Jean-Louis LENOISELE IRDL-UBS): we will test strategies to collect, dry and use Sargassum biomass during periods of mass stranding. This huge raw material is known to degrade very quickly. We will then study different possibilities to stabilize this biomass and optimize its use taking into account the possible accumulation of arsenic in the algal tissues.
  • WP5 Eco-responsible extraction processes and biomass valorisation (Resp. Maud BENOIT ALGAIA-Saint Lô and Nathalie BOURGOUGNON LBCM-UBS): in the framework of the collaboration between industrial actors and academic partners, we will valorize algal biomass in 2 sectors: agriculture with the production of biopesticides/biostimulants and the biomaterials sector with the production of biocartons by combining algal polymers with fibers from Caribbean plants.

Sites d’étude :

 

Partenaires :

 

Save-C Partenaires

Crédits photos : Valérie Stiger (LEMAR, Brest), Sandrine Ruitton (MIO, Marseille)

The team

Contributors

PI des différents partenaires:

  • P2 – UA-BOREA (Guadeloupe): Charlotte DROMARD
  • P3 – IRD-MIO (Marseille): Valérie MICHOTEY
  • P4 – ALGAIA SA (France): Maud BENOIT
  • P5 – CIRAD (Martinique): Béatrice RHINO
  • P6 – EFINOR Sea Cleaner: Benjamin LERONDEAU
  • P7 – L3MA (Martinique): Maxime CHEVALIER
  • P8 – UBS-IRDL (Lorient) : Jean-Louis LANOISELE
  • P9 – UBS-LBCM (Vannes): Nathalie BOURGOUGNON
  • P10 – CINVESTAV (Mexique) : Daniel ROBLEDO
  • P11 – UCaen-BOREA (Caen): Isabelle MUSSIO
  • P12 – The Marine Box : Ralph SINIAMIN
  • P13 – IFREMER-BIODIVENV (Martinique): Jean-Pierre ALLENOU
  • P14 – University of West Indies, Cave Hill: Henri VALLES

SAVE-C

Etude des Sargasses holopélagiques responsables d'échouements massifs : Valorisation et écologie sur les côtes des Caraïbes

Coordination

Valérie STIGER-POUVREAU (LEMAR)

Type de projet

National, International

Durée du projet

Début du projet

12/10/2020

Fin du projet

11/10/2023

Liens

Save-C Financeurs

Le projet réunit 14 partenaires de différentes équipes caribéennes et métropolitaines autour du thème des échouements massifs de sargasses le long des côtes caribéennes. Les différents partenaires impliqués dans le projet sont connus pour produire un travail de haute qualité scientifique et ont déjà été impliqués dans des projets de recherche fondamentale et appliquée visant à comprendre certains processus écologiques et physiologiques, à valoriser les ressources marines, en particulier les macroalgues. Les partenaires sont financés par diverses agences de financement :

LEMARMIOBOREA Caen : financés par l’ANR

BOREA-UA Guadeloupe : financé par la Région Guadeloupe

L3MA-Martinique, BIODIVENV–Ifremer-Martinique : financés par la Collectivité Territoriale de Martinique

CIRAD-Martinique, TMB-Martinique, EFINOR-Paimpol, ALGAIA-Saint Lô, LBCM-UBS, IRDL-UBS : financés par l’ADEME

– les deux partenaires étrangers, CINVESTAV (Mexique) et UWI (Barbade) sont en auto-financement car non éligibles dans l’AAP SARGASSES 2019.

Les populations humaines de la région des Caraïbes, souffrent depuis 2011 des marées brunes suivies par des échouements importants de sargasses qui ont des conséquences catastrophiques pour la faune et la flore benthiques, pour la santé et les activités humaines. Les objectifs du projet SAVE-C sont d’obtenir des connaissances de base sur les radeaux et les espèces de Sargassum, mais aussi de changer la perception des populations locales face aux échouements massifs de sargasses sur les zones côtières, en transformant cette nuisance en une opportunité de valorisation. Il s’agit d’une contribution à trois thèmes de l’AAP SARGASSES 2019 : Thèmes 1,3,4. Le projet SAVE-C comblera les lacunes en matière de connaissances sur le fonctionnement écologique du radeau à la côte et leurs menaces dans les Caraïbes, mais aussi il proposera une solution pour transformer l’échouement en opportunités socio-économiques avec un moyen potentiel de développer des applications des abondantes biomasses de macroalgues échouées sur les plages.

En utilisant une combinaison d’études sur le terrain, d’expériences écologiques et physiologiques et de biotechnologies le projet SAVE-C permettra :

  1. d’apporter des connaissances sur les espèces de Sargassum responsables de ces échouements et sur les radeaux de Sargassum, réel habitat hébergeant des communautés animales, végétales et microbiennes.
  2. d’optimiser la collecte et le stockage des biomasses de Sargassum avant sa valorisation dans deux secteurs, l’agriculture et les biomatériaux.
  3. de fournir des recommandations concernant la collecte et la valorisation de la biomasse de Sargassum.

SAVE-C Concept_project

Le projet se découpe en 5 actions de recherche (WPs).

Les radeaux de sargasses provenant de la “nouvelle mer des Sargasses” constituent un habitat atypique et les connaissances sur son écologie sont pratiquement inexistantes.

  • WP1 Diversité associée aux radeaux (Resp. Valérie MICHOTEY, MIO-IRD) : la diversité associée à l’habitat sera étudiée (faune, flore et microorganismes). Cette diversité sera étudiée par différentes approches, morphologiques, moléculaires et également par acoustique. Les paramètres environnementaux (température, salinité, O2, pH, arsenic, etc…) autour et dans les radeaux seront également étudiés.
  • WP2 Interactions trophiques et chimiques entre les organismes des radeaux (Resp. Charlotte DROMARD, BOREA-UA Guadeloupe: nous étudierons l’écologie fonctionnelle au sein des radeaux de Sargassum afin d’identifier les interactions entre les organismes (à savoir les interactions algues-brouteurs, algues-microbiote), son réseau trophique, mais aussi l’évolution de ces interactions lors des échouements qui entrainent des perturbations écologiques sur les réseaux trophiques marins locaux.

Une question fondamentale est le maintien des thalles de Sargassum en vie pélagique, par opposition à la majorité des espèces de Sargassum qui sont benthiques.

  • WP3 Influence des conditions environnementales sur le cycle de vie de Sargassum (Resp. Solène CONNAN, LEMAR-UBO) : nous étudierons le cycle de vie de Sargassum, de la croissance des fragments, leur reproduction végétative, leur dispersion jusqu’à leur dégradation, en relation avec la qualité de l’eau (oligotrophie dans les zones pélagiques par rapport à l’enrichissement du milieu côtier, par les apports continentaux et/ou atmosphériques) et avec les contaminants (dont arsenic).

Les radeaux et les échouements de sargasses représentent une biomasse à valoriser.

  • WP4 Collection et stabilisation de la matière première Sargassum (Resp. Benjamin LERONDEAU EFINOR-Paimpol et Jean-Louis LENOISELE IRDL-UBS) : nous testerons des stratégies pour collecter, sécher et utiliser la biomasse de Sargassum en période d’échouements massifs. Cette énorme matière première est connue pour se dégrader très rapidement. Nous étudierons ensuite différentes possibilités de stabiliser cette biomasse et d’optimiser son utilisation en tenant compte de l’accumulation possible d’arsenic dans les tissus de l’algue.
  • WP5 Procédés d’extraction écoresponsable et valorisation de la biomasse (Resp. Maud BENOIT ALGAIA-Saint Lô et Nathalie BOURGOUGNON LBCM-UBS) :  dans le cadre de la collaboration entre les acteurs industriels et des partenaires universitaires, nous valoriserons la biomasse algale dans 2 secteurs : l’agriculture avec la production les biopesticides/biostimulants et le secteur des biomatériaux avec la production de biocartons en combinant les polymères algaux avec des fibres de végétaux caribéens.

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

PI des différents partenaires:

  • P2 – UA-BOREA (Guadeloupe): Charlotte DROMARD
  • P3 – IRD-MIO (Marseille): Valérie MICHOTEY
  • P4 – ALGAIA SA (France): Maud BENOIT
  • P5 – CIRAD (Martinique): Béatrice RHINO
  • P6 – EFINOR Sea Cleaner: Benjamin LERONDEAU
  • P7 – L3MA (Martinique): Maxime CHEVALIER
  • P8 – UBS-IRDL (Lorient) : Jean-Louis LANOISELE
  • P9 – UBS-LBCM (Vannes): Nathalie BOURGOUGNON
  • P10 – CINVESTAV (Mexique) : Daniel ROBLEDO
  • P11 – UCaen-BOREA (Caen): Isabelle MUSSIO
  • P12 – The Marine Box : Ralph SINIAMIN
  • P13 – IFREMER-BIODIVENV (Martinique): Jean-Pierre ALLENOU
  • P14 – University of West Indies, Cave Hill: Henri VALLES