PAMPAS

Evolution of the heritage identity of the Pertuis Charentais wetlands in response to the risk of marine submersion

Coordination

Marie Vagner, Thomas Lacoue-Labarthe (UMR LIENSs), Nicolas Bécu (UMR LIENSs) et Nathalie Long (UMR LIENSs)

Project type

National

Funding

ANR PRC

Project duration

Start Date

January 1, 2019

End Date

December 31, 2022

Links

PAMPAS focuses on the future of the coastal marshes of Charente-Maritime and their management against the marine submersion hazard. This project makes the choice to approach this question through the prism of the patrimonial identity to go beyond the classical approaches of evaluation of the conservation ecology, of the economy and of the management of the cultural heritage, all considered insufficient to apprehend the heritage, understood as the particular articulation between the components of a marsh participating in its collective identity. PAMPAS therefore aims to lift this lock by an interdisciplinary approach applied to three study areas (the marshes of Fier d’Ars, Tasdon, and Brouage), contrasting both in terms of natural heritage, cultural, landscape and management (dikes, in project of reopening to the sea, in debate of laissez-faire or diking, respectively).

Built on a collective approach (co-coordinated by four researchers) and participatory engineering (interdisciplinary co-construction workshop) allowing to cross the expertise in Human and Social Sciences, Life Sciences and Earth Sciences and those of the managers of marsh (49 people from 13 units, 9 disciplines), PAMPAS focuses on three major objectives:

  • 1) to characterize the natural functions (biodiversity, biogeochemical functioning and ecosystem functions), cultural (heritage trajectory of property) and landscape (recognition landscape elements by the users and development) of the marshes and integrate these different components into a spatial representation of the heritage identity;
  • 2) to define from the socio-ecosystem point of view, the response of these components to the marine submersion hazard: after having characterized physically the submersion hazard, the study of the short-term effects on the heritage components will help to develop a global representation of the socio-ecosystem both in terms of functionalities, services, but also in terms of resilience or ability to adapt to the hazard. The effects at the 100-year scale will also be addressed through the past evolution of territories characterized by contrasting hydrodynamic contexts.
  • 3) these results will be confronted with the different management practices on the selected sites in order to define evolution scenarios of their heritage identity and evaluate their adaptive potential. This axis includes (i) an analysis of the management methods determining the possible evolutions of the patrimonial identity, following the submersion, (ii) a discussion of the results with managers and the locally elected representatives, using an interactive tool of cartography and focus groups, to discuss the transition of these territories and adaptive management modalities of marshes, and (iii) dissemination of results towards users and the general public to feed an ecosystem vision of marshes exposed to marine submersions.

Ultimately, and based on a revised definition of patrimonial identity adapted to marsh areas, PAMPAS will bring new solutions for sustainable management, by transmitting economic, cultural and ecological knowledge. The stakes and the project issues therefore go far beyond the local level and concern wetlands at the global level for which it is now necessary to review the analysis and management frameworks by integrating the heritage into its various social and ecosystem dimensions.

The team

Laboratory Members

Contributors

Collaborateurs scientifiques :

LIENSs : T. Lacoue-Labarthe, N. Bécu, N. Long, P. Bocher, E. Chaumillon, C. Dupuy, S. Sablé, H. Montanié, H. Agogué, C. Lefrançois, I. Arnaudin, I. Lanneluc, H. Thomas, J.-M. Carozza, N. Imbert Auvray, L. Murillo, V. Huet, O. de Viron, C. Pignon-Mussaud, V. Becquet, E. Pante, J. Fort, X. Bertin, E. Dubillot, M. Bréret, N. Lachaussée, P. Pineau ; * LETG : P. Stéphan ; * CRHIA : M. Augeron ; * CRIHAM : T. Sauzeau ; * FMA : P. Boudeau, J. Hubert, F. Blanchet

EPOC : V. David, S. Schmidt, A. Coynel; * GEO-Transfert: E. Maneux

ETBX (IRSTEA) : N. Rocle, C. Cazals, A. Gassiat ; * ART-Dev : A. Rivaud

CEBC : F. Brischoux; * ECOBIO : J. Pétillon

Ifremer : P. Polsenaere ; * ISPA : E. Lamaud

GREThA : S. Ferrari, S. Lavaud, J.-C. Pereau, P. Point

* laboratoires associés au partenaire indiqué en gras

 Collaborateurs du territoire :

Ligue de Protection des oiseaux, Réserves Naturelles Nationales, Forum des Marais Atlantiques, Pays de Marennes-Oléron, Conservatoire du Littoral, Unions des Marais, Communauté d’Agglomération de La Rochelle.

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

PAMPAS

Évolution de l’identité patrimoniale des marais des Pertuis Charentais en réponse à l’aléa de submersion marine

Coordination

Marie Vagner, Thomas Lacoue-Labarthe (UMR LIENSs), Nicolas Bécu (UMR LIENSs) et Nathalie Long (UMR LIENSs)

Type de projet

National

Financement

ANR PRC

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/01/2019

Fin du projet

31/12/2022

PAMPAS porte sur le devenir des zones humides côtières et de leur gestion face à l’aléa de submersion marine, avec pour modèle d’étude les marais littoraux de Charente-Maritime. Ce projet fait le choix d’aborder cette question à travers le prisme de l’identité patrimoniale pour aller au-delà des approches classiques d’évaluation de l’écologie de la conservation, de l’économie et de la gestion du patrimoine culturel, toutes considérées insuffisantes pour appréhender le patrimoine, entendu comme l’articulation particulière entre les composantes d’un marais participant à son identité collective. PAMPAS vise donc à lever ce verrou par une approche interdisciplinaire appliquée à trois terrains d’études (les marais du Fier d’Ars, de Tasdon, et de Brouage), contrastés tant en termes de patrimoine naturel, culturel, paysager que de mode de gestion (fortement endigué, en projet de réouverture à la mer, en débat de laisser-faire ou d’endiguement, respectivement).

Construit sur une démarche collective (co-coordonné par quatre chercheurs) et d’ingénierie participative (atelier de co-construction interdisciplinaire) permettant de croiser les expertises en Sciences Humaines et Sociales, Sciences de la Vie et de la Terre et celles des gestionnaires des marais (49 personnes provenant de 13 unités, 9 disciplines), PAMPAS s’axe sur trois objectifs majeurs :

  • 1) caractériser les fonctions naturelle (biodiversité, fonctionnement biogéochimique et fonctions écosystémiques), culturelle (trajectoire de patrimonialisation des biens) et paysagère (reconnaissance des éléments paysagers par les usagers et mise en valeur) des marais et intégrer ces différentes composantes dans une représentation spatiale de l’identité patrimoniale ;
  • 2) définir sous l’angle socio-écosystémique, la réponse de ces composantes à l’aléa de submersion : suite à la caractérisation physique de la submersion, une recherche des effets à court-terme sur les composantes patrimoniales permettra de développer une représentation globale du socio-écosystème à la fois en termes de fonctionnalités, de services, mais aussi en termes de résilience ou de capacité d’adaptation face à l’aléa. Les effets à l’échelle centennale seront aussi abordés à travers l’évolution passée des territoires caractérisés par des contextes hydrodynamiques contrastés.
  • 3) ces résultats seront confrontés aux différentes pratiques de gestion à l’œuvre sur les sites choisis afin de définir des scénarios d’évolution de leur identité patrimoniale et évaluer leur potentiel adaptatif. Cet axe comprend (i) une analyse des modes de gestion déterminants les évolutions possibles de l’identité patrimoniale, suite à la submersion, (ii) une mise en discussion des résultats, par l’intermédiaire d’un outil interactif de cartographie et de focus groups, auprès des gestionnaires et des élus afin de débattre de la transition de ces territoires et des modalités de gestion adaptative des marais, et (iii) une diffusion des résultats auprès des usagers et du grand public pour nourrir une vision écosystémique du patrimoine des marais exposés aux submersions marines.

In fine, et à partir d’une définition revue de l’identité patrimoniale adaptée à des zones de marais, PAMPAS apportera de nouvelles solutions pour une gestion durable, par la transmission de connaissances économiques, culturelles et écologiques. Les enjeux et les problématiques de projet dépassent donc de très loin le niveau local et concernent les zones humides au niveau mondial pour lesquelles il est aujourd’hui nécessaire de revoir les cadres d’analyse et de gestion en intégrant le patrimoine dans ses différentes dimensions socio-écosystémiques.

L'équipe

Membres du Laboratoire

Collaborateurs

Collaborateurs scientifiques :

LIENSs : T. Lacoue-Labarthe, N. Bécu, N. Long, P. Bocher, E. Chaumillon, C. Dupuy, S. Sablé, H. Montanié, H. Agogué, C. Lefrançois, I. Arnaudin, I. Lanneluc, H. Thomas, J.-M. Carozza, N. Imbert Auvray, L. Murillo, V. Huet, O. de Viron, C. Pignon-Mussaud, V. Becquet, E. Pante, J. Fort, X. Bertin, E. Dubillot, M. Bréret, N. Lachaussée, P. Pineau ; * LETG : P. Stéphan ; * CRHIA : M. Augeron ; * CRIHAM : T. Sauzeau ; * FMA : P. Boudeau, J. Hubert, F. Blanchet

EPOC : V. David, S. Schmidt, A. Coynel; * GEO-Transfert: E. Maneux

ETBX (IRSTEA) : N. Rocle, C. Cazals, A. Gassiat ; * ART-Dev : A. Rivaud

CEBC : F. Brischoux; * ECOBIO : J. Pétillon

Ifremer : P. Polsenaere ; * ISPA : E. Lamaud

GREThA : S. Ferrari, S. Lavaud, J.-C. Pereau, P. Point

* laboratoires associés au partenaire indiqué en gras

 Collaborateurs du territoire :

Ligue de Protection des oiseaux, Réserves Naturelles Nationales, Forum des Marais Atlantiques, Pays de Marennes-Oléron, Conservatoire du Littoral, Unions des Marais, Communauté d’Agglomération de La Rochelle.

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018