M2BIPAT

Marine Microbial BIodiversity PATterns

Coordination

Laurent Memery

Project type

Funding

Project duration

Start Date

January 1, 2015

End Date

January 1, 2020

Links

Marine microorganisms (prokaryotic as well as eukaryotic) are the basis of aquatic food webs and represent the least explored compartment of biodiversity on Earth, despite being one of the most reactive and influential in terms of global ecology and climate change. Recent technological advances in high throughput DNA sequencing provide almost exhaustive and semi-quantitative data on the diversity of microbes in a given ecosystem. At the same time, new theoretical developments are addressing the issue of planktonic biodiversity. Within phytoplankton, based on a representation of the ecological traits of several dozen phenotypes competing for a limited number of resources, biodiversity patterns are studied in relation to a variable 3D hydrodynamic environment. Dynamic forcing makes it possible to identify the phytoplankton most likely to develop and thus define type “habitats”.

M2BIPAT project aims to use the Bay of Brest- near Iroise Sea as a natural laboratory to study the responses of the microbial ecosystem to contrasting environmental conditions. Associated with a very marked tidal front, it brings together, over a small geographical area, very diverse environmental conditions, estuarine and strongly anthropized in the Bay of Brest, eutrophic but mixed in the near Iroise area, and seasonally stratified or mixed offshore.

Position of the stations in the Iroise Sea performed on the vessel “Albert Lucas” in June 2014 (3 stations: triangles. First exploration campaign) and September 2014 (5 stations: cross, the station at 5°W – Pierres Noires – having been revisited. These 5 stations are the basis of the M2BIPAT program). SST highlights the highly mixed cold and stratified zone further offshore, beyond the outer front, as well as the warmer zone towards the coast ( internal front).

The M2BIPAT project combines an observational meta-barcody-type approach with physical/biological numerical simulations to monitor and understand the evolution of microbial biodiversity, more particularly phytoplankton (bacteria/procaryotes and eukaryotes) and to effectively study the feedback between the distribution of resources and substrates (growth limitations), first-orderly regulated by physics (here, small and medium-scale hydrological structures) and the composition of microbial communities.

 

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

M2BIPAT

Marine Microbial BIodiversity PATterns

Coordination

Laurent Memery

Type de projet

Régional

Financement

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/01/2015

Fin du projet

01/01/2020

Liens

Les microorganismes marins (procaryotes comme eucaryotes) sont à la base des réseaux trophiques aquatiques. Ce compartiment de la biodiversité reste le moins exploré sur Terre, en dépit d’être l’un des plus réactifs et le plus influent en termes d’écologie mondiale et de changement climatique. Les récentes avancées technologiques dans le séquençage à haut débit de l’ADN permettent d’obtenir des données quasi exhaustives et semi-quantitatives de la diversité des microbes dans un écosystème donné. Dans le même temps, de nouveaux développements théoriques abordent la question de la biodiversité planctonique. Au sein du phytoplancton, sur la base d’une représentation des traits écologiques de plusieurs dizaines de phénotypes en compétition pour un nombre limité de ressources, les patrons de biodiversité sont étudiés en lien avec un environnement hydrodynamique 3D variable. Le forçage dynamique permet de faire émerger les phytoplanctons les plus aptes à se développer et de définir donc des « habitats » type.

Le projet M2BIPAT a pour objet d’utiliser la zone Rade de Brest-proche Iroise comme laboratoire naturel pour étudier les réponses de l’écosystème microbien à des conditions environnementales contrastées. Associée à un front de marée très marqué, elle rassemble sur une faible étendue géographique des conditions environnementales très variées, estuariennes et fortement anthropisées dans la Rade de Brest, eutrophes mais mélangées dans la zone proche Iroise, et saisonnièrement stratifiées ou mélangées au large.

Position des stations en Mer d’Iroise effectuées sur le navire de station « Albert Lucas » en Juin 2014 (3 stations : triangles. Première campagne exploratoire) et Septembre 2014(5 stations : croix, la station à 5°W – Pierres Noires – ayant été revisitée. Ce sont ces 5 stations qui servent de base au programme M2BIPAT). La SST met en lumière la zone fortement mélangée froide et la zone stratifiée plus au large, au-delà du front externe, ainsi que la zone plus chaude vers la côte (front interne)

Le projet M2BIPAT couple une approche observationnelle de type meta-barcoding à des simulations numériques physique/biologie, pour suivre et comprendre l’évolution de la biodiversité microbienne, plus particulièrement du phytoplancton (bactéries/procaryotes et eucaryotes) et d’étudier efficacement les rétroactions entre les distribution des ressources et substrats (limitations de croissance), régulées au premier ordre par la physique (ici, les structures hydrologiques à petite et moyenne échelle) et la composition des communautés microbiennes.

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

Matilde Cadier (thèse LEMAR)

LM2E

Loïs Maignien

LOPS

Louis Marié

DYNECO

Marc Sourisseau, Raffaele Siano, Sophie Schmidtt, Pierre Ramond (thèse)

LOG

Dorothée Vincent

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018