Labcom BioTechALg

Blue biotechnologies: adding value to algal biomass

Coordination

Claire Hellio and Fabienne Guérard

Project type

National

Funding

Project duration

Start Date

October 26, 2018

End Date

October 25, 2021

Links

The marine environment is a source of original molecules and compounds that have yet to be explored and exploited. Thus, microalgae, faced with strong intra- and interspecific competition in the natural environment, have developed an original arsenal of defence systems and molecules involved in chemical communication (Quorum Sensing). These molecules play a major role in the control of microbial populations, in antioxidant defences and in the modulation of many enzymatic activities. In addition, microalgae have rapid cell development, allowing biomass production in sufficient quantities for industrial operations (thus freeing them from fishing and collection). They can be grown under controlled conditions, and allow stable and high production yields, as well as the possibility of testing a wide variety of metabolic situations.

During the joint laboratory programme, biodiversity will be screened on an industrialisable scale, using dedicated tools, both in vitro and in vivo. The applications targeted will be the cosmetics and nutraceuticals markets. The identification of new molecules that could be used in new formulations and/or replace chemical preservatives is of major strategic interest, which is also one of the major current public health challenges.

This project is the result of a meeting between an industrial production company of algae biomass (GREENSEA, part of the GREENTECH group) and the Joint Research Unit LEMAR Laboratory (University of Western Brittany) with two high throughput marine biomass screening platforms (BIODIMAR® and Lipidocéan).

The project aims to explore the relationship between controlled conditions for the growth of different strains of microalgae, including under stress conditions, and the diversity of metabolites produced, some of which will have biological activities of interest for cosmetics (in the short term) and/or nutraceuticals.

A large-scale screening strategy will be implemented to isolate and characterize the different families of bioactive compounds of 50 microalgae and their culture media over the project period. The development of eco-friendly extraction processes for active molecules will be favoured. The presence of original molecules will be revealed by the analysis of metabolomic profiles and by biological tests (existing or custom developed) based on the evaluation of antimicrobial activities, inhibition of key enzymes in cosmetics and nutraceuticals, antioxidants and cytotoxicity. Their chemical characterization and identification will be carried out by analytical techniques such as chromatography and capillary electrophoresis, coupled with FTIR, NMR and mass spectrometry techniques.

At the end of the 3-year programme, the outcome of this research will be the development of isolated bioactive compounds through the development of new ranges of products formulated on the basis of molecules of marine origin, which will be marketed by the company GREENSEA.

Scientific and technological locks:

The labcom project between LEMAR and Greensea will remove two key locks:

  1. Access for Greensea to a high throughput screening of the biological activities of the strain library extracts will allow pre-selection of strains of interest to which a metabolic forcing will be applied that may lead to an overexpression of certain metabolites of interest.
  2. By benefiting from LEMAR’s scientific expertise on (i) the analysis and chemical characterization of the assets and (ii) the development of more environmentally friendly extraction processes, the company will make a technological leap forward.

At the end of this work, knowledge and understanding of the behaviour of different varieties of microalgae under various stresses will be improved. This will allow GREENSEA to control the production on an industrial scale of microalgae varieties selected for their bio-active potential. These bio-actives will then be considered in an industrial strategy.

Copyright : Laboratoire LEMAR- 2018

Labcom BioTechALg

Biotechnologies bleues: valorisation de biomasses algales

Coordination

Claire Hellio et Fabienne Guérard

Type de projet

National

Financement

Durée du projet

Début du projet

26/10/2018

Fin du projet

25/10/2021

Liens

Laboratoire Commun BioTechAlg

Le milieu marin représente une source de molécules et de composés originaux encore très peu explorés et sous exploités. Ainsi, les microalgues, confrontées à une forte compétition intra et inter-spécifiques en milieu naturel, ont développé un arsenal original de systèmes de défense et de molécules impliquées dans la communication chimique (Quorum Sensing). Ces molécules jouent un rôle majeur dans le contrôle des populations microbiennes, dans les défenses anti-oxydantes et dans la modulation de nombreuses activités enzymatiques. De plus, les microalgues ont un développement cellulaire rapide, permettant une production de biomasse en quantité suffisante pour des exploitations industrielles (s’affranchissant ainsi de la pêche et du ramassage). Elles peuvent être cultivées en conditions contrôlées, et permettent des rendements de production stables et élevés, ainsi que la possibilité de tester des situations métaboliques très variées.

Au cours du programme du laboratoire commun, il s’agira de cribler la biodiversité à une échelle industrialisable, et au moyen d’outils dédiés, aussi bien in vitro, qu’in vivo. Les applications visées seront les marchés de la cosmétique et de la nutraceutique. L’identification de nouvelles molécules susceptibles d’entrer dans la composition de nouvelles formulations et/ou de remplacer les conservateurs chimiques est d’un intérêt stratégique majeur, qui relève également des grands enjeux actuels de santé publique.

Ce projet est issu de la rencontre d’une société de production industrielle de biomasses d’algue (GREENSEA, du groupe GREENTECH) avec le Laboratoire LEMAR UMR 6539 (Université de Bretagne Occidentale) possédant deux plateformes de criblage haut débit de biomasses marines (BIODIMAR® et Lipidocéan).

Le projet vise à explorer la relation entre des conditions maîtrisées de croissance de différentes souches de microalgues, y compris dans des conditions de stress, et la diversité des métabolites produits, dont certains présenteront des activités biologiques d’intérêt pour la cosmétique (à court terme) et/ou la nutraceutique.

Une stratégie de criblage à grande échelle sera mise en œuvre pour isoler, puis caractériser les différentes familles de composés bioactifs de 50 microalgues et leurs milieux de culture sur la période du projet. Le développement de procédés d’extraction éco-respectueux des molécules actives sera privilégié. La présence de molécules originales sera révélée par l’analyse des profils métabolomiques et par des tests biologiques (existants ou développés à façon) se basant sur l’évaluation d’activités antimicrobiennes, d’inhibition d’enzymes clés en cosmétique et nutraceutique, anti-oxydantes et de cytotoxicité. Leur caractérisation et identification chimiques seront réalisées par des techniques analytiques comme la chromatographie et l’électrophorèse capillaire, couplées à des techniques FTIR, RMN et à la spectrométrie de masse.

A l’issue des 3 années du programme, l’aboutissement de ces recherches sera une valorisation des composés bioactifs isolés par l’élaboration de nouvelles gammes de produits formulés à base de molécules d’origine marine, qui seront commercialisés par la société GREENSEA.

Verrous scientifiques et technologiques:

Le projet de labcom entre le LEMAR et la société Greensea permettra de lever deux verrous clés:

  1. L’accès pour Greensea à un criblage haut débit des activités biologiques des extraits de la souchothèque permettra de pré-sélectionner des souches d’intérêt sur lesquelles sera appliqué un forçage métabolique qui pourra conduire à une surexpresssion de certains métabolites d’intérêt.

  2. En bénéficiant de l’expertise scientifique du LEMAR sur (i) l’analyse et la caractérisation chimique des actifs et sur (ii) le développement de procédés d’extraction plus respectueux de l’environnement, l’entreprise effectuera un saut technologique.

À l’issue de ce travail, la connaissance et la compréhension du comportement de différentes variétés de microalgues soumises à divers stress, seront améliorées. Ceci permettra ainsi le contrôle de la production à l’échelle industrielle par GREENSEA des variétés de microalgues sélectionnées pour leur potentiel bio-actif. Ces bio-actifs seront alors considérés dans une stratégie industrielle.

L'équipe

Collaborateurs

SOCIÉTÉ GREENSEA

  • Dr Jean-Paul Cadoret, HDR, Directeur Délégué de la société de Biotechnologie Marine GREENSEA.
  • Carole Vialleix, Chef de projet au sein de la société Greensea.

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018