J_eau_J Dakar 2022

Microbiological and physicochemical measurements of marine waters in Senegal

Coordination

Guillaume Constantin de Magny et Patrice Brehmer

Project type

International

Funding

Comité International Olympique

Project duration

Start Date

August 1, 2019

End Date

August 31, 2020

Links

As part of the organisation of the 2022 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Dakar, many sporting activities will be organised, including open water sports such as sailing, triathlon, surfing and rowing. To this end, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Senegalese National Olympic Sports Committee (CNOSS) have mandated the Institute of Research for Development (IRD), through two of its departments (Oceans, Climate and Resources and Health and Societies) and its representation in Senegal, to carry out sampling and analysis campaigns at sea to determine the microbiological quality of the pre-selected sites.

During these campaigns, in addition to the evaluation of the microbiological quality of the water, the IRD undertook to carry out, as far as possible, measurements and analyses of the physicochemical quality of the sea water and to make its results available to the IOC and the CNOSS free of charge. This project follows the results obtained in the tripartite AWA project “Ecosystem approach to fisheries and marine environment management in West African waters” (IRD BMBF, 2013-2017; https://www.ird. fr/la-mediatheque/videos-en-ligne-canal-ird/awa-approche-ecosystemique-de-la-gestion-des-peches-et-de-l’-environnement-marin-dans-les-eaux-ouest-africaines) as part of one of its demonstration projects entitled Awatox [ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0-PXzpNXbs ] carried out in partnership with the Pasteur Institute of Dakar, ISRA/CRODT, UCAD FST, Birdlife, etc, The project is also the result of numerous communication actions to raise awareness of the issue of marine pollution in Senegal, targeting decision-makers and the general public.

Lastly, this project has also made it possible to support three postgraduate doctoral theses locally in Senegal (at the University of Dakar UCAD FST, and the University of Bambey UADB), including a thesis in marine ecotoxicology under the joint supervision of UBS (University of Southern Brittany) and the LBCM (Marine Biotechnology and Chemistry Laboratory).

The team

Laboratory Members

Contributors

Mr Amidou SONKO

Yoba KANDE (UADB)

UMR MIVEGEC (IRD, CNRS Université de Montpellier)

ISRA/CRODT, Institut Pasteur de Dakar (IPD)

Comité National Olympique Sportif Sénégalais

Bureau d’Orientation Stratégique du Plan Sénégal Emergent (PSE)

Université de Dakar UCAD FST

Université de Bambey UADB

US 191 Imago (IRD)

Guillaume CONSTANTIN de MAGNY (IRD, MIVEGEC)

Issa NDIAYE (UCAD/IPD)

Nfally Petit SADIO (Ecole Maritime)

Amidou SONKO (UCAD/FMPO)

Pr Isabelle Linossier (UBS)

Dr Gael Le Pennec (UBS)

Dalyal Copin (LBCM)

Naby Souleymane FAYE (UCAD/ISE)

Saliou FAYE (ISRA/CRODT)

Jean MAES (TTSM)

J_eau_J Dakar 2022

Mesures microbiologiques et physicochimiques des eaux maritimes au Sénégal

Coordination

Guillaume Constantin de Magny et Patrice Brehmer

Type de projet

International

Financement

Comité International Olympique

Durée du projet

Début du projet

01/08/2019

Fin du projet

31/08/2020

Liens

Dans le cadre de l’organisation des jeux olympique de la jeunesse (JOJ) en 2022 à Dakar, beaucoup d’activités sportives seront au rendez-vous dont les sports aquatiques pratiqués en eau libre comme la voile, le triathlon, le surf, ou encore l’aviron. Pour se faire, le Comité International Olympique (CIO) et le Comité National Olympique Sportif Sénégalais (CNOSS) ont mandaté l’Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD), par le biais de deux de ses départements (Oceans « Océans, climat et ressources » et SAS « Santé et Sociétés ») et de sa représentation au Sénégal, pour réaliser des campagnes en mer de prélèvements et analyses de la qualité microbiologique des sites présélectionnés.

Lors de ces campagnes, en plus de l’évaluation de la qualité microbiologique de l’eau, l’IRD s’est engagé à sa charge de réaliser, dans la mesure du possible, des mesures et analyses de la qualité physicochimique de l’eau de mer et de mettre ses résultats à disposition du CIO et du CNOSS à titre gracieux. Ce projet fait suite aux résultats obtenus dans le projet tripartite AWA « Approche écosystémique de la gestion des pêches et de l’environnement marin dans les eaux ouest-africaines » (IRD & BMBF, 2013-2017 ; https://www.ird.fr/la-mediatheque/videos-en-ligne-canal-ird/awa-approche-ecosystemique-de-la-gestion-des-peches-et-de-l-environnement-marin-dans-les-eaux-ouest-africaines) dans le cadre d’un de ses projets de démonstration intitulé Awatox [ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0-PXzpNXbs ] mené en partenariat notamment avec l’Institut Pasteur de Dakar, l’ISRA/CRODT, l’UCAD FST, Birdlife, etc., ainsi que de ces nombreuses action de communication pour la sensibilisation à la thématique de la pollution marine au Sénégal ciblant les décideurs et le grand public.

Enfin, ce projet permet par ailleurs de soutenir trois thèses de doctorat de troisième cycle localement au Sénégal (au sein de l’Université de Dakar UCAD FST, et de l’Université de Bambey UADB), dont une thèse en écotoxicologue marine en cotutelle avec UBS (Université de Bretagne Sud) et le LBCM (laboratoire de biotechnologie et chimie marines).

L'équipe

Membres du Laboratoire

Collaborateurs

Mr Amidou SONKO

Yoba KANDE (UADB)

UMR MIVEGEC (IRD, CNRS Université de Montpellier)

ISRA/CRODT, Institut Pasteur de Dakar (IPD)

Comité National Olympique Sportif Sénégalais

Bureau d’Orientation Stratégique du Plan Sénégal Emergent (PSE)

Université de Dakar UCAD FST

Université de Bambey UADB

US 191 Imago (IRD)

Guillaume CONSTANTIN de MAGNY (IRD, MIVEGEC)

Issa NDIAYE (UCAD/IPD)

Nfally Petit SADIO (Ecole Maritime)

Amidou SONKO (UCAD/FMPO)

Pr Isabelle Linossier (UBS)

Dr Gael Le Pennec (UBS)

Dalyal Copin (LBCM)

Naby Souleymane FAYE (UCAD/ISE)

Saliou FAYE (ISRA/CRODT)

Jean MAES (TTSM)

Laboratoire LEMAR – 2018