Indian Ocean Acoustic Observatory

The hydroacoustic observation network OHASISBIO

External collaborations: ENSTA Bretagne

OHA-SIS-BIO – HydroAcoustic Observatory of SISmicity and BIOdiversity – is a multidisciplinary and long-term (2010-2020) hydroacoustic observation programme. It consists of a network of 6 to 10 autonomous hydrophones immersed in the water column. Installed at the beginning of 2010, it is maintained every year during the annual trip of the N.O. Marion Dufresne to the French Southern Islands. This observatory has a two main objectives:

  • To carry out the most exhaustive possible acoustic monitoring of the seismicity associated with the three spreading ridges of the Indian Ocean, with contrasted opening rates (70 to 15 mm / year), and the deformation of the central Indian basin over a period the most representative possible;    
  • To record, over several annual cycles, the acoustic activity of large whales in the Southern Ocean, a key area of ​​their habitat and migration.

There are three additional goals. Indeed, the collected data revealed unexpected information on the noise of the sea state (microseismic noise) and the discharge of Antarctic glaciers in the Southern Ocean. This information, in the long term, would help validating prediction models of the sea state or estimates of the importance of climate change on Antarctic glaciers. Finally, our network provides as many sites on where to detect P waves from remote and distant earthquakes, which are converted into acoustic waves at the foot of the hydrophone moorings; these arrival times help constraining global tomography models.

Location of acoustic events from hydrophones of the OHASISBIO network alone (blue and yellow diamonds) between January 2012 and January 2013 (~ 8000 events; Tsang-Hin-Sun et al., 2016). Located by 4 or more hydrophones (red dots) or only 3 hydrophones (white dots).

Additional information

Contact: Jean-Yves Royer (first-name.lastname@univ-brest.fr)

OHASISBIO site locations (2018):

Océan Indien : l’observatoire acoustique OHASISBIO

Collaborations extérieures: Lab-STICC ENSTA Bretagne

OHA-SIS-BIO – Observatoire HydroAcoustique de la SISmicité et de la BIOdiversité – est un programme d’observation hydroacoustique, pluridisciplinaire et long terme (2010-2020). Il est constitué par un réseau de 6 à 10 hydrophones autonomes immergés dans la colonne d’eau. Installé début 2010, il est maintenu chaque année lors du voyage annuel du N.O. Marion Dufresne vers les îles australes françaises. Cet observatoire a le double objectif :

  • de réaliser une surveillance acoustique la plus exhaustive possible de la sismicité associée aux 3 dorsales de l’océan Indien, dont les taux d’ouverture sont contrastés (70 à 15 mm/an), et à la déformation du bassin Indien central sur une période la plus représentative possible;
  • de recenser par une surveillance acoustique sur plusieurs cycles annuels l’activité de grands mammifères marins dans l’océan austral, zone charnière de leur migration, en particulier des grandes baleines.

Trois nouveaux objectifs s’y ajoutent maintenant. En effet, les données acquises ont révélé des informations inattendues sur le bruit de l’état de mer (bruit microsismique) et la décharge des glaciers antarctiques dans l’océan austral. Ces informations, sur le long terme, permettraient de valider les modèles de prédiction d’état de mer ou d’estimer l’importance du changement climatique sur les glaciers antarctiques. Enfin, notre réseau fourni autant de sites sur lesquels il est possible de détecter les ondes P de téléséismes à très grande distance, qui se convertissent en ondes acoustiques au droit des hydrophones ; ces temps d’arrivée permettent de contraindre les modèles de tomographie globale.

Localisation d’évènements acoustiques à partir des hydrophones du seul réseau OHASISBIO (losanges bleus et jaunes) entre janvier 2012 et janvier 2013 (~ 8000 ; Tsang-Hin-Sun et al., 2016). Localisation par 4 hydrophones ou plus (points rouges) et seulement 3 hydrophones (points blancs).

Informations complémentaires

Contact: Jean-Yves Royer

Distribution des sites d’écoute (2018):